SUGGESTIONS Disaster Recovery

Brianmac

Reaction score
I'm a complete VOIP newbie, but have been dealing with smoothwall routers for years. So I am comfortable in linux, putty, iptables, winscp...etc and I am a network consultant(windows),so I have a pretty knowledgeable background.

I love this stuff, but one questions....

How do you deal with Disaster Recovery. I have always dealt with servers, by having a duplicate system, and using imaging. This way I can have a system back up in 30 minutes. How do you deal with PIAF, in case the PC/server dies? I have been reading the forums, and one response said that he had many servers in place and had a blank server(with current updates) and if a PiaF fails, he can load the configs and have that office up in 10 minutes. Is there any docs on something like this?

I have a commercial customer that has a small NEW business that I would like to test his with, but very unfamiliar with disaster recovery on this stuff.

Thanks for any information...

Brian

atsak

Guru
Reaction score
I use hyper V (you could use VMWare or Virtualbox as well) which replicates things everywhere automatically in near real time. In testing the failover process takes less than a minute.

There's other ways like using imaging as you suggest, automated backups using FreePBX are pretty good too.

Robert-BCC

Rank amateur
Reaction score
The GUI has a backup / restore function under the admin menu. Even including system recordings and voice mail for a 10+ person office, it's about 30MB. Recovery requires that you have the same version in place to ensure that things like mysql entries can be restored properly.