SOLVED URGENT problem with numbers at Vitelity carried by Sprint

rchalk

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
283
Reaction score
21
Location
N.E. GA, USA
I have two numbers currently on Vitelity/Voyant, which are in turn serviced by Sprint. Vitelity is advising me that due to changes at their end, they will no longer be able to provide these numbers, and that I should contact Sprint to set up service with another VOIP provider.

These numbers were originally with Horry County Telephone, and were in Murrell's Inlet, South Carolina. When I ported them, the only provider I could find that could port them was Vitelity by way of Sprint. Does anyone know of ANY VOIP provider who has a relationship with Sprint, so I might be able to port these numbers? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Richard
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
956
Reaction score
180
I'd check out some of the other providers like Anveo Direct or Voip.MS to see if they can be ported at all. Believe it or not, there are still some pockets where number portability doesn't work.
 

rchalk

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
283
Reaction score
21
Location
N.E. GA, USA
I checked with all the popular providers including those two, and all were negative. Vitelity was the only one who could, but I guess they are severing their ties with Sprint. I will try calling Sprint Business Services on Monday, to see if they can tell me who interconnects with them. The only other way for my customer to keep the numbers would be to port them back to Horry County, and set them up as remote Call Forwarding to other numbers on my VOIP system. He is going to be really annoyed if I have to change his phone numbers....
 

islandtech

Wassamassaw
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
498
Reaction score
73
Some of HTC exchanges can port out depending on the rate center.
They like to charge you for RFC plus more for each additional forwarding path!
 

rchalk

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
283
Reaction score
21
Location
N.E. GA, USA
Well, there never was a solution, so we ported the numbers back to HTC, and set up remote call forwarding to numbers on VOIP.MS. Changing the Internet Provider to HTC allowed us to do this for no additional charge, so we have a work-around that let the customer keep the numbers.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
415
Location
South Florida
What did Sprint say when you contacted them asking about Sprint carriers? I remember many years ago that Sprint was allowing some smaller guys become carriers with them and I even had the paperwork
 

rchalk

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
283
Reaction score
21
Location
N.E. GA, USA
They were very off-handed. They "kind of" suggested a couple of carriers, but neither of them was able to help, so in the end, the solution above was the only way I found to keep the numbers active.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,375
Messages
137,424
Members
14,578
Latest member
BoRoDKuH