QUESTION Two devices, same extension?

PatPend

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Is there a way to set up two devices on the same extension in IncrediblePBX? The Grandstream UCX6116 has a feature called "concurrent registrations" that allows for this. Very useful to enable remote users working from home to use their office extension transparently without setting up ring groups etc. Would like to do something similar, basically set up a softphone on my iPhone so I can answer calls when I'm away from the desk. Doable?
 

jerrm

Guru
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
533
Reaction score
223
Multiple endpoints can register to the same PJSIP extension. Set the "Max Contacts" greater than 1 in the extension setup.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,579
Reaction score
427
Location
South Florida
Multiple endpoints can register to the same PJSIP extension. Set the "Max Contacts" greater than 1 in the extension setup.
Hmm... I've still not upgraded ... but this might give me another reason to. You are saying that you can have more than one extension registered and ring at the same time?

I mean right now - I have 101 = desk phone, then 102 = home phone, and 103 = mobile bria. Then I have ring group to ring all, and tweak the BLF hints so that if any is occupied, then BLF is lit for that user.
You're telling me all the banjo work I do is moot if I instead went with PJsip ??
 

jerrm

Guru
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
533
Reaction score
223
Yes. You don't have to change everything, set up a single pjsip ext and test.
 

PatPend

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Thanks. No success for me though, I could not get my desk phone to register to a PJSIP extension. In fact, a second account on the phone, which remained CHAN_SIP, lost registration when I changed the first account/extension to PJSIP. Need to dig in a little more when I have time.
 

ou812

Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
465
Reaction score
70
VitalPBX allows for multiple devices to be registered to the same user account. No pjsip required.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,579
Reaction score
427
Location
South Florida
VitalPBX allows for multiple devices to be registered to the same user account. No pjsip required.
I don't understand this - it is based on Asterisk, correct? And if no pjsip, you are saying SIP. Sip has devices registered to a specific place so that it knows how to communicate, so how can it know about 2 places at same time or am I missing something here?
 

jerrm

Guru
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
533
Reaction score
223
I don't understand this - it is based on Asterisk, correct? And if no pjsip, you are saying SIP. Sip has devices registered to a specific place so that it knows how to communicate, so how can it know about 2 places at same time or am I missing something here?
Probably about the same as FreePBX in Device and User Mode. Multiple devices can then register to a single user(extension).
 

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
995
Reaction score
330
Does VitalPBX reveal which channel driver it is using?
 

ou812

Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
465
Reaction score
70
If you have a vitalpbx server go to a extension and look at the drop down menu for devices, here you can add multiple devices to register to the same account.
You can see how to do it here,


2460
 

dallas

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
219
Reaction score
31
Location
Sydney, Australia
Thanks. No success for me though, I could not get my desk phone to register to a PJSIP extension. In fact, a second account on the phone, which remained CHAN_SIP, lost registration when I changed the first account/extension to PJSIP. Need to dig in a little more when I have time.
Did you set a new port for PJSIP? ie CHAN_SIP on 5060 and PJSIP on 5061.
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,450
Messages
138,039
Members
14,613
Latest member
roshan2019