QUESTION Setting up remote access to AvantFax server in office?

RoboLord

Reaction score
Hey there, this is probably a pretty simple problem but I'm not an expert at networking. We are trying to replace an expensive eFax account with a self-hosted fax server. I've managed to install HylaFax/AvantFax with my Incredible PBX and it works perfectly for our needs in the office.

There's just one more hurdle: my business partner would like to be able to send faxes from her home office, or maybe even while on her laptop from elsewhere. I see two options, find a way to allow her access to the server that resides in the office, or install another fax server on a Raspberry Pi at her house.

I'd prefer the first option. What I have so far is a dynamic DNS (duck DNS) for the office IP address. What I don't have is a grasp on how to setup access to the Incredible PBX install on my Raspberry Pi 3. I assume I need to open up a port and white list the home office IP. Would I be able to get this to work if she were say at a coffee shop, and how?

My Unifi networking equipment has the option to setup a pretty straight forward Radius VPN server, and I've managed to route traffic through it, but I've never figured out how allow the remote client to interact with the office LAN clients. Something about routing rules but I am lost.

Any suggestions on how to go about this in the simplest way? Anything that requires a complex login routine from her laptop will be over her head.

Ideally, she would just direct her browser to https://officeserver.duckdns.org:9999 and have access to AvantFax front end. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

jerrm

Guru
Reaction score
Best and most proper answer is get the VPN working. It's probably time well spent and opens up other possibilities down the road.

Email to fax may be the answer if she doesn't need all the Avantfax webinterface functions.