NO JOY Ready: Asteridex - Outlook sync

TDF

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
206
Reaction score
0
You and your flashy GUI, Ive had to pimp the darkside

FreePBX

21208020eh3.jpg


My buttons to run outlook.php and dialcode.php

It might have looked better with the buttons inside the box but I've not figured that out yet.

76340204ph1.jpg
 

ColPanic

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I'm getting a partial sync then:

Database query-home failed

this is in my Apache logs:

PHP Notice: Undefined variable: dialcode in /var/www/

Any Ideas?
Thanks
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,202
Reaction score
5,224
Take a look at the last record displayed before it crashes AND the next one. Cut-and-paste what's in the .csv file for these 2 records and let's have a look. Looks like it is a problem with the home phone number entry or non-entry.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
This is really interesting. Except over the course of the development all the instructions look a little mangled.

Is there a quick tutorial someone can make from scratch for Outlook 2007 - AsteriDex, please?

Thanks.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Thanks wm.
Now, when I open the outlook.php in the browser, it's a little messy.

It says Name, and under it shows the last name. Under Home Phone, it shows the first name. Business Phone is literally empty except for a few. And Mobile phone is full populated, sometimes both Mobile number and Business numbers.

What gives?
 

TDF

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
206
Reaction score
0
I'm wondering if you expanded the name field and that has messed it up, it should look like this

70871491wd2.jpg
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,202
Reaction score
5,224
Thanks wm.
Now, when I open the outlook.php in the browser, it's a little messy.

It says Name, and under it shows the last name. Under Home Phone, it shows the first name. Business Phone is literally empty except for a few. And Mobile phone is full populated, sometimes both Mobile number and Business numbers.

What gives?

Post several entries from your export. It's fine to change the numbers a bit. Just don't make other changes.
 

ou812

Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
479
Reaction score
79
I had the same problem, I think its because I use outlook 2000 and in the export file there is a , between the first & last name, I edited the file before importing and was good to go.

Gary
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,202
Reaction score
5,224
The extra comma would cause problems based upon the way the fields are being parsed. The comma really is the only way to decipher which fields are where because of Microsoft's oddball implementation of CSV.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Post several entries from your export. It's fine to change the numbers a bit. Just don't make other changes.

Thanks.
This is what it looks like:

"Name","Home Phone","Business Phone","Mobile Phone"
"Scherzig, Sean ",,"(619) 815-7027 x222","(619) 111-2222"

I'd hate to see the firstname lastname messed up too. I'd rather see Sean Scherzig on my phone.

How can I fix this?
PS: I don't have home numbers for almost 99% of them.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
I had the same problem, I think its because I use outlook 2000 and in the export file there is a , between the first & last name, I edited the file before importing and was good to go.

Gary

Tried changing some stuff around, it became even worse, lol
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,202
Reaction score
5,224
"Scherzig, Sean ",,"(619) 815-7027 x222","(619) 111-2222"

The red comma above has gotta go. You'll either have to figure that out on the Outlook side, or you can try the following:

Insert the next line immediately after the existing line that begins with $name2find in outlook.php:

$name2find = str_replace(", "," ",$name2find) ;

Let me know how it goes.
 

TDF

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
206
Reaction score
0
Sorry that was my fault, I keep all my names in the last name field, it just seemed the natural way to do it for easy searching.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
"Scherzig, Sean ",,"(619) 815-7027 x222","(619) 111-2222"

The red comma above has gotta go. You'll either have to figure that out on the Outlook side, or you can try the following:

Insert the next line immediately after the existing line that begins with $name2find in outlook.php:

$name2find = str_replace(", "," ",$name2find) ;

Let me know how it goes.

I put it in this way:
Code:
function HomeProc($name,$home) {
 $name2find = $name . " (home)";
 $name2find = str_replace(", "," ",$name2find) ;

Yet, it looked the same when I opened outlook.php in browser.

Name: Scherzig
HomePhone: Sean
Businessphone: blank
Mobilephone: (619) 815-7027 x222,(619) 111-2222
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Sorry that was my fault, I keep all my names in the last name field, it just seemed the natural way to do it for easy searching.

Maybe something for people who like to use first name as first name and last name as last? :)
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,202
Reaction score
5,224
Let's try this instead. Take out the addition we tried above, and then do this...

First, search for $var2,$var3,$txt which should display this line:

$txt = str_replace($var2,$var3,$txt) ;

Now, add the following line immediately below it:

$txt = str_replace(", "," ",$txt) ;

Then run the import again and let's see what you get.

The new version is also attached below.
 

Attachments

  • outlook.zip
    3.2 KB · Views: 105

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Let's try this instead. Take out the addition we tried above, and then do this...

First, search for $var2,$var3,$txt which should display this line:

$txt = str_replace($var2,$var3,$txt) ;

Now, add the following line immediately below it:

$txt = str_replace(", "," ",$txt) ;

Then run the import again and let's see what you get.

The new version is also attached below.

Great, looks like we're getting somewhere.

Name: Scherzig Sean
HomePhone: blank
Business Phone: 619 815-7027 x222
MobilePhone: (619) 111-2222

The good thing that came out of it is that all the names that didn't have phone numbers associated with them sat inside "HomePhone"

The other thing is it the field shows up as "Mobile Phon" without the E.
Also, is there a way I could put the last name to show up as first?

Thanks guys for helping me with this.
 

Devil

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Great, looks like we're getting somewhere.

Name: Scherzig Sean
HomePhone: blank
Business Phone: 619 815-7027 x222
MobilePhone: (619) 111-2222

The good thing that came out of it is that all the names that didn't have phone numbers associated with them sat inside "HomePhone"

The other thing is it the field shows up as "Mobile Phon" without the E.
Also, is there a way I could put the last name to show up as first?

Thanks guys for helping me with this.

Some last words?
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
25,815
Messages
167,790
Members
19,245
Latest member
rahee
Get 3CX - Absolutely Free!

Link up your team and customers Phone System Live Chat Video Conferencing

Hosted or Self-managed. Up to 10 users free forever. No credit card. Try risk free.

3CX
A 3CX Account with that email already exists. You will be redirected to the Customer Portal to sign in or reset your password if you've forgotten it.
Top