TIPS Outgoing trunks

yosef guttman

Reaction score
Hi all I am new at this and trying to get a freepbx system up and working.
So far I have extensions and can call in a google voice line and select the extension, However I set up an outgoing trunk with the same number and I can't seem to get my extension to reach it. All I get when I pick up the phone is a busy signal type of noise. Not sure what i missed to set up I thought I followed all the instructions properly. Any ideas please let me know
thanx
Yosef

MGD4me

Guru
Reaction score
First, welcome to the forum. You will find a great deal of information and helpful tips on this site.

For best result, it is always recommended that you state which version of PiAF you are using, in case the issue or solution is unique to that particular release. Sometimes the problem is fairly generic, so further investigation (and details) would be required.

In general terms, you would need BOTH an Outbound Route, AND a trunk, to initiate calls from your PBX to the outside world. The Outbound route will analyze the string of dialled digits, and decide where to direct the call. You may have a number of Trunks defined, and the Outbound Route will point to one (or, a list of trunks).