TIPS On intercom systems?

CapnBio

Reaction score
I've been looking around for many intercom systems but they all lack information I what I need to actually get it done.

I would like a recommendation on what I'd need to get a 2-4 or up to 6 speaker intercom one-way to several rooms with zones, and the reception is the only phone that has access to the intercom system. I've never done this before but I'm a very hands on guy.

MGD4me

Guru
Reaction score
Some paging application can be found here, to get you thinking in broad terms: http://www.voipsupply.com/blog/voip-insider/ip-paging-system/

You have two options... connect to an existing paging system with a paging adapter, (or install one if that's the route you choose), OR use IP phones which have an 'auto-answer' speaker-phone built in. With the second option, you can page (or intercom) each extension individually, or set up paging groups as required.

CapnBio

Reaction score
Some paging application can be found here, to get you thinking in broad terms: http://www.voipsupply.com/blog/voip-insider/ip-paging-system/

You have two options... connect to an existing paging system with a paging adapter, (or install one if that's the route you choose), OR use IP phones which have an 'auto-answer' speaker-phone built in. With the second option, you can page (or intercom) each extension individually, or set up paging groups as required.

Thank you for this. I think the best thing to do is get the phones that support 'auto-answer' with speaker. With a few groups setup with it.

CapnBio

Reaction score
Ok, so we are changing our minds about this, we're actually going through with an actual pa system. The way I'm actually going to do this is by buying one of these Viking systems
Since we already have an amplifier already powering speakers throughout the building with music from a radio source, I thought of connecting the amp to the Viking pa system and viola, plus need to add a waterproof loudspeaker outside.