TIPS new to pbx and incrediblepbx.

jon9314

Reaction score
hello,
I am very new to all of this but I love learning. let me start out by saying I set this up as a home phone system, not as a business. I followed the excellent tutorial for installing and setting up my GV numbers(i have 3) over at http://nerdvittles.com. I am able to make and receive calls. the only things that I was wanting to do but I can't figure out is make the caller id appear as if all calls are coming from the 1st GV trunk no matter which one the call is coming from(maybe it's not possible). the other is I want any calls to automatically roll over to either GV on trunk 2 or 3 to keep the "main number open to receive calls(is that even possible?).
thanks in advance for any and all help on this.

mainenotarynet

Not really a Guru - Just a long time user
Reaction score
Sorry , but there is no option for 'Line Hunting' where if Main number is busy, then line 2, if busy line 3. As once a call is answered in PBX, the Line one isn't busy anymore. :)

The reason I don't use my FOUR GV trunks is you cannot 'spoof' (tell GV what to use for CID, it forces your GV Number), I don't WANT those numbers out there , I run 5 organizations out of my PBX plus 2 home numbers and a Fax machine (18 numbers(?) ) and I use voip.ms at less that $1.00/month ber number and less than $0.001/minute it's not free, but is cheap enough. They have a home use option of I think $3.99/month and no per minute charges but I use mine for businesses too so I play fair (and for my uses it's cheaper anyways. With Voip.ms you can have 1 number and as many 'channels (concurrent calls) as you need with the $1.00/month option and 'Spoof' Your Caller ID any way you want.

I'm sure there are other providers that do the same, but this is what I use (For Years now) and works quite well. PBXes don't really need line hunting as a Trunk can handle many calls at once (depending on provider and your setup).