DEAL New Kid on the Block: V1VoIP

Discussion in 'Trunks & Providers' started by wardmundy, Nov 7, 2017.

  1. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    We haven't personally tested calls yet, but you might want to check out this new Florida provider with pricing similar to Anveo Direct...

    15¢/mo. DIDs from 13,000 Rate Centers with 15¢ setup fee

    Incoming calls at $.003 per minute

    Outbound calls in U.S. as low as $.0003 per minute (not a typo)

    Great pricing on International DIDs and calls as well.

    [​IMG]
     
    #1 wardmundy, Nov 7, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017
  2. krzykat

    krzykat Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    317
    What's their minimums?
     
  3. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    Testing now. Will report back but primitive is probably too complementary.
     
  4. tycho

    tycho Guru (not...)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    214
    Awaiting the verdict to see what is "primitive." We've all used some providers like that at some point... :beta1:
     
  5. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    $20
     
  6. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    185
    $20 + 3.5% for "Something" calls are cheap, DID not so much compared with the market, can't yet figure out their faxing, but faxtoemail is 7.50 a month (through a third party)
     
  7. atsak

    atsak Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    152
    If someone buys a DID look up who the underlying carrier is on free carrier lookup. I'm curious who they're wholesaling from. (or PM me and I will look it up).
     
    #7 atsak, Nov 8, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 9, 2017
  8. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    Here's my preliminary take. We bought one: 843-666-0226 (Neutral Tandem DID). That's the good news. The bad news is we're only receiving about half the calls to that DID. The others never make it to them, much less to us. Not in their CDR at all. Feel free to call the number yourself and see if you get a busy signal. If you do, please PM me the number from which you called so I can report it to them. They still can't quite believe any of this is happening. Never seen it before, etc., etc. Google Voice calls work fine by the way. AT&T Mobile works most of the time. This probably isn't their fault, but it doesn't inspire confidence either. Outbound calls fail to same DIDs as the originating calls that failed...

    p.s. Voice quality is excellent.
     
    #8 wardmundy, Nov 9, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017
  9. krzykat

    krzykat Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    317
    I ran into these guys at ITexpo Jan 2016 and they required a minimum at that time of I think $500 /month. What I recall that I liked is that they had a billing engine that you could whitelabel and use if you bought from them. I thought I remembered them saying they had SMS too which I was interested in, but I never followed up with them.
     
  10. tycho

    tycho Guru (not...)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    214
    "We just spoke." *heh*
     
  11. atsak

    atsak Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    152
    How quickly after you enabled the number did you start the testing?
    I just called via Anveo Direct, Telus Mobility (Canadian wireless carrier that's part of an ILEC) and Voip Innovations. All three went through.

    I have seen something strange like this on Anveo Direct once with a Canadian DID (in the 437 exchange, a new Toronto exchange) - neither they nor I saw the call, it just was busy. It righted itself a few days later and has been fine since.

    But the overcharging is worrisome.
     
  12. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    185
    Well, so far my experience has been better than good, responsive < 24hr , the general manager is both knowledgeable and flexible, (my concerns were t38 termination/origination) new "product" made "just for me" within hours, general release first week of 2018 if all goes well. They are all a little quirky, but so am I, so, for a few bucks just try them for termination. it will only cost you that < $21 and their wholesale pricing is close to "exchange" (go figure) if you can handle a 403 elegantly, if not just route through their 'premium' service
     
  13. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    Set up two separate trunks with FreePBX, Incredible PBX 13, or Issabel:

    v1voip1:
    Code:
    host=sip.v1voip.com
    type=friend
    insecure=port,invite
    qualify=yes
    disallow=all
    allow=ulaw
    nat=no
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    canreinvite=no
    context=from-trunk
    
    v1voip2:
    Code:
    host=sip2.v1voip.com
    type=friend
    insecure=port,invite
    qualify=yes
    disallow=all
    allow=ulaw
    nat=no
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    canreinvite=no
    context=from-trunk
    
     
  14. islandtech

    islandtech Wassamassaw

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    69
    Purchased a DID.
    Configured it made inbound and outbound calls under 10 mins.
    Ping time is 68 compared to voip.ms 37

    Outbound failed and fell through to the next trunk misleading me.
     
    #14 islandtech, Nov 10, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017
  15. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    For Outbound: Did you whitelist your server's IP address in Termination:Endpoint Request?
     
  16. islandtech

    islandtech Wassamassaw

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yes, but it is not showing up on the dashboard.
    forbidden response in the Asterisk log file
     
  17. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    That means you whitelisted the wrong IP address, and your access to V1VoIP to place the call got blocked.
     
  18. islandtech

    islandtech Wassamassaw

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    69
    Changed the dial plan to 1nxxnxxxxxx and now outbound calls complete
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  19. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,286
    Likes Received:
    2,431
    Yep. 1 is required because they support international calls as well.
     
  20. islandtech

    islandtech Wassamassaw

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trunk was unreachable this morning.
    Support replied: what are you using as your trunk? If you were connecting to our dns with auto failover you would not be experiencing any issues.
    disabled then enabled the trunk which pulled a different IP, in and out calls working again
    ping time 87 compared to voip.ms 32
     

Share This Page