FOOD FOR THOUGHT New gv VoIP

Discussion in 'Trunks & Providers' started by ariban, Jan 26, 2019.

  1. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    12
  2. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,507
    Likes Received:
    2,471
  3. TirsoJRP

    TirsoJRP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    30
    Profound sadness...
     
  4. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    205
    Also bacon would likely go up in price ;-)
     
  5. dallas

    dallas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    21
    I've wondered for a while now what the fuss over Google Voice was all about.
    Here in Oz ISP's include a VoIP landline in their plans for free and most have unlimited calls included.
     
  6. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    205
    Hard to understand how they include a "landline" , they might provide an FXS port on the modem that provides dial-tone complete with a DID, but it is unlikely a usable SIP connection and the 'landline' concept goes away as soon as your network connection with them dies. A land line is as it suggests a pair of wires between your house and the local exchange (the building in town without any windows where you c an get your white pages from ;-) )

    But truly, when you can buy a reliable service for a buck a month and less than a penny minute , who needs the aggravation ?
     
    #6 dicko, Jan 27, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2019
    wardmundy likes this.
  7. dallas

    dallas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    21
    @dicko you are correct it is an FXS port on the modem. Perhaps I should have said "sudo landline" not "VoIP landline". My point is it is totally free. I agree GV is no longer worth the effort.
    Oh, BTW telephone exchanges here do have windows. :)
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  8. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    205
    That's efficient ;-) gotta let those relays enjoy the sunlight
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  9. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,507
    Likes Received:
    2,471
    The oligopolies in the U.S. charge $29.95/mo. for that port.
     
  10. kenn10

    kenn10 Guru-ish

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    100
    It won't be long before all the telephone company Central Offices are consolidated into a mere internet point of presence. The phone companies want only wireless or entertainment divisions. Copper wires and fiberoptics are too expensive to maintain and are largely being neglected or abandoned. The at&t's and Verizon's of the world have all but abandoned the physical facilities and they have millions of dollars in surplus switching hardware they no longer need. Sadly, as VOIP has become prevalent, the whole idea of 99.999% reliability has gone the way of the dodo bird. The Lucent 5ESS and Nortel DMS100 switches of the world are slowly going dark.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  11. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,507
    Likes Received:
    2,471
    Amen to that. If you travel through the Deep South, most of the old AT&T central offices in small towns are covered in vines. Of course, we have about a dozen servers sitting in our attic at the moment so I guess we've all moved on to the latest shiny object.
     
    dallas likes this.
  12. ou812

    ou812 Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    69
    From a few tears ago, all my customers have changed from old Toshiba out new Asterisk servers in.[​IMG]
     
  13. dallas

    dallas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    21
    That's for sure. We now accept PC reliability in our phone system.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  14. dallas

    dallas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    21
    In that case we may be paying too much for our internet access in Australia. We can't avoid taking the "free" service, even if we don't plug in a handset, but I'll bet it contributes to the overall cost of the internet service. I pay AUD $80 per month with a static IP. (That's around US $60.)
     
  15. krzykat

    krzykat Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    337
    For how much bandwidth down/up? and what level of service? cable / dsl / fiber?
     
  16. dallas

    dallas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks to our politicians Australia internet is a dog's breakfast.
    The rollout of a nation broadband network started about 10 years ago and was supposed to completely replace the copper telephone network with fibre to the home (FTTH). There was a change of government 5 years ago and they immediately change the structure of the half built network. They claimed the country couldn’t afford it. We now have a mix of FTTH, FTTB, FTTN, FTTC and HFC providing the connections to customers.
    There are only 3 asymmetrical speed plans offered. 12Mbps, 50Mbps and 100Mbps. Most homes that are not on FTTH can’t get 100Mbps.
    /EndRant

    @krzykat My internet is fibre to the home and the plan is 50Mbps down and around 6Mbps up.
     
  17. ostridge

    ostridge Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ah so that is how the Brexiters intend to import from Denmark.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  18. phinphan

    phinphan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    21
    The Google voice VoIP is now live for all users in US. Select WiFi and mobile data in Make and Receive calls settings. That setting only affects calls with gv app, not the phone dialer.
    Just in time to try out for my trip to the Dominican Republic where a data sim is like 3.00.

    I wonder if there is any real difference between using Hangouts to answer all calls and Hangouts dialer to make them.

    Since I have TMobile, I can also use their app, digits to get my US cell phone with a DR data SIM.

    That and 3cx extension on my cell should ensure that I continue to bug my office during my vacation!
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  19. dicko

    dicko Still learning but earning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    205
    But remember that "when pigs fly" then "bacon will go up" pretty well everything else also in post-brexit UK ;-)
     
    ostridge and wardmundy like this.
  20. ostridge

    ostridge Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    65
    I reckon your comment is on the money. Any changes in governmental reorganisation invariably result in the usual rip off.
     
    wardmundy likes this.