QUESTION Need random outbound caller ID

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
For a number of years, I've been helping a buddy with his PIAF-based call center telephone system. It's been remarkably stable, and very capable. Now they want to add a feature where the outbound caller ID is randomly set from a small pool of their DIDs.

Google leads me to the RAND function, and an example that sounds like a perfect fit. My background is not in programming, however, and I don't know how to implement this. Any help toward the goal would be very appreciated!

Here's the example I found...


Code:
if we had few caller ID number want to use it, try this:
 
[outbound]
exten => _886X.,1,Noop
  same => n,Gosub(pickCallerIDnum,cell${RAND(1,5)},1)
  same => n,Dial(SIP/${EXTEN}@gateway,32,gCX)
 
[pickCallerIDnum]
exten => cell1,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=09xxxxxxx1)
  same => n,Return
exten => cell2,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=09xxxxxxx2)
  same => n,Return
exten => cell3,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=09xxxxxxx3)
  same => n,Return
exten => cell4,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=09xxxxxxx4)
  same => n,Return
exten => cell5,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=09xxxxxxx5)
  same => n,Return

Thanks,

Peter
 

krzykat

Telecom Strategist
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,145
Reaction score
1,235
Check out a2billing, I'm pretty sure they have this functionality.
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
Check out a2billing, I'm pretty sure they have this functionality.

Thanks... I'll explore that for more information. But I think this can be done with some pretty light edits.

Experimenting with the example code, I've created a custom context "random," and pointed a test extension to it. I can manipulate the outbound caller ID, but not with any "randomness." I'll keep at it for a while, but obviously lack the programming basics!

Thanks again,

Peter
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
Lgaetz,

This looks perfect! I'll give it a go, and let you know how it works out.

Thanks a lot,

Peter
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
Okay,

Code:
[macro-dialout-trunk-predial-hook]
exten => s,1,noop(Entering context ${CONTEXT} defined in extensions_custom.conf)
exten => s,n,Set(foo=${RAND(1,3)})  ;choose a random number between 1 and 3
exten => s,n,noop(choosing random CID #${foo})
exten => s,n,goto(${foo},1)
 
exten => 1,1,set(CALLERID(number)=5551111111)
exten => 2,1,set(CALLERID(number)=5552222222)
exten => 3,1,set(CALLERID(number)=5553333333)

I just put this in on a test machine, and it works!! So we're all set!!

Thanks a lot, especially to lgaetz! Very much appreciated!

Peter
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
I thought I'd revisit this old thread, as the original need for "random" caller ID has changed a bit.

The pbx has DIDs for nearly every area code in the US. We'd like to set the outbound caller ID based on the area code dialed.

So, agent dials 212 555-1212, and the outbound caller ID would be something like 212 123-4567.

I realize this can be done via the GUI using Outbound Routes, but that's a lot of outbound routes to set up to include every area code!!

I did take a "BASIC" programming class in the 80's, but that isn't much help now!

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Peter
 

dicko

Still learning but earning
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Messages
1,607
Reaction score
826
You might find that idea is a losing situation going forward as your calls will look like they are unsolicited and will fall foul of much burgeoning legislation/rules.

if you are not blind calling, then you will need to use a number that actually gets to call you back.
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
Right-

They have about 300 DIDs with most of the US area codes that map back to their main IVR. So, if a call is initiated by an agent, the idea is, an appropriate number from the pool will be used for the outbound caller ID. At one point in the past, we'd set up something similar, but using random numbers (from a pool of actual DIDs mapped to their IVR.) So, an agent would place a call to a 415 area number, one of their DIDs would randomly be used for the outbound caller ID. I say random, knowing that isn't the actual case. But the CID wasn't "fixed," in any case, and any outbound caller ID was a real DID, which would be reachable if a recipient were to call it.

This is a friend's business PBX that I've set up and managed over the years...

I may just start setting up outbound routes, but roughly 300 of them... ugh!

So, if there are ideas, I'm all eyes and ears...

Thanks!

Peter
 

dicko

Still learning but earning
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Messages
1,607
Reaction score
826
I would seed an asterisk database with a mapping of every area-code you need to a did in that areacode you own and use a dial out hook macro to set the CallerID(number) appropriately.
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
That sounds right. Thanks for the nudge in that direction...

I'll need to search for some similar setup that I can adapt. Or complete some programming courses!
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
I'd guess you're used to trouble!

Thanks for those links- I'll see where they lead, and will report back....
 

dicko

Still learning but earning
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Messages
1,607
Reaction score
826
HeHe, IMHO it's only others who see me as trouble ;-)
 

Fortel

Guru
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
122
Reaction score
4
Those are the exact right links! Great information there!

Thanks Dicko!
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
25,778
Messages
167,504
Members
19,198
Latest member
serhii
Get 3CX - Absolutely Free!

Link up your team and customers Phone System Live Chat Video Conferencing

Hosted or Self-managed. Up to 10 users free forever. No credit card. Try risk free.

3CX
A 3CX Account with that email already exists. You will be redirected to the Customer Portal to sign in or reset your password if you've forgotten it.
Top