TIPS My call forwarding to PBX gives busy ring

gordon

Reaction score
So, I am just getting into the world of pbx. I am trying to follow the best practices I read in nerdvittles articles that say to have many backup voip lines with one hardline from a major telco that I can rely on always being available. The intention of this is to forward the telco line to a voip line (apparently voip lines are not as reliable from an uptime perspective since they are generally from smaller providers) and when one goes down I can just forward my telco line to a backup voip line.

Now I've run into the issue when I went to enable my PIAF-Green system that the telco line I am trying to forward only supports 1 simultaneous forwarded call. Subsequent calls just ring busy. This is only an issue with the call forwarding because I can call into the pbx directly and enter the queue.

AT&T is telling me that I need to change to a call forwarding number and they charge $22.65 per "call path" which sounds like what the voip providers call a channel (but I am uninformed so maybe I am wrong).

That seems very expensive compared to voip channels. What is a "best practice" here? Should I really pay $22.65 per forwarding call path even though 20 voip channels are on the order of $10.

The AT&T rep I was talking to also said that they offer voip lines. Is there a reason voip lines from major telcos aren't recommended?

Thanks,
Gordon

MGD4me

Guru
Reaction score
Basically, what you have learned is true. An "ordinary" Telco line provides for one call at a time. You may have "Call Waiting" service, where a second incoming call can provide a tone, so that you can either accept the second call, or ignore it. If you accept the second caller, the first caller is "parked" at the Telco facilities. In the end, the POTS line still can only handle one call.