FOOD FOR THOUGHT Locally backing up VPS

Brianmac

Reaction score
Just created my first IncrediblePBX 13-13 on vultr. All is working well. I have never used a hosting service before, always local physical server. I have daily backups being made.
My question, how can you make a disk image of the VPS and download for disaster recovery or if I wanted to move to another VPS service?
Thanks,
Brian

dicko

Still learning but earning
Reaction score
Start your vm at vultr with archlinux iso from the library, you can then use clonezilla to do exactly what you want.

restamp

Reaction score
I use rsync to perform my backups. Basically, I set up an rsync server on the backup device and created a shellscript to spool the content being backed up from the client to it. The backed-up content is stored in a directory hierarchy on the server which mimics the client and the permissions, ownership, etc., are stored in each file's extended attributes Restoral involves reloading the original OS template and then overlaying the backup-up content over it. I've only had to restore from a backup one time, but it was successful. If people would like a more detailed explanation and writeup, I'll try to provide it.

Brianmac

Reaction score
Thanks guys for taking the time to answer!!!
dicko, can you give more detailed instructions?

Brian

dicko

Reaction score