FOOD FOR THOUGHT Local installs vs cloud installs

Alex Hackney

Reaction score
I've been installing these systems for clients for a couple of years and I've been seeing more people talk about using it in the cloud. How are people setting this up? I have my own pbx running on digital ocean but I have no sip phones on it yet. I basically have it running the software and rerouting inbound calls to my cell phone. I have the instance firewalled off from all incoming traffic and I allow specific connections to asterisk from my provider only. The only exception is for the web interface which I have open to only my static ip.

How would I get my phones at an office tied in to this system? A VPN? Or just like I'm doing now with firewall rules blocking all sip traffic but from my ip? What other safe guards should I implement?

I like the idea of moving the pbx server to the cloud so that if the internet goes down at the location then I can route failover calls to their cell phones or wherever. What do you do?

Reaction score
I'm sure a lot of people will chime in but I only think that makes sense for business architectures that are not centrally located. Support issues even when the equipment is onsite can crop up but I don't think it makes any sense to have a bunch of sip phones talking to a distant server. There are two many points of failure, QOS issues and not as easy to provide a backup solution for failure especially trunk failure. Security IS an issue. I have seen people implement a VPN to that things are secure especially voice.
If the internet goes down you should be able to do a re-route via the trunk providers dashboard. Cloud solutions also lack a robust hardware firewall solution like Pfsense or hardware.
In a local implementation you can also do a POTS backup solution easily.

w1ve

Guru
Reaction score