TIPS IncrediblePBX in the cloud, IP phones behind PfSense

Eliad

Reaction score
First of all, i am not an expert at all.
My dream is to be able to use IncrediblePBX in the cloud instead of my current on site PBX.
I got the IncrediblePBX working on Vultr.
Now I have trouble connecting my 7 phones which are behind a PfSense firewall. I can connect just one phone when using Chan-SIP. The rest are blocked by the PfSense. I have played with the PfSense Firewall but no luck so far.
Does anybody have a similar setup? Any advice on how I can make it work? My phones are Yealink if that matters.
I have read somewhere PJSIP is better through a firewall than the Chan-SIP. I tried it and I get all phones connected but the Asterisk CLI shows the phones get connected in and out.

krzykat

Telecom Strategist
Reaction score
I have a client with a Vultr server and pfsense firewall. I do NOT use PJSIP, as I am still not convinced its ready for prime-time. I would make sure to whitelist your public IP on the server, and then add your vultr IP to the PFsense box. Does your PFsense box have a public IP on its WAN, and is there another router or firewall between it and the internet? FYI ... I've stopped using PFsense unless there is a real need for it and now use Ubiquiti ER-X for firewall / VPN / Router. Pretty inexpensive, and easy to setup.

tbrummell

Guru
Reaction score
I'm running a similar setup using Vultr and pfSense for home use with 10 IP phones in the house. I do remember having issues having phones connect through pfSense so I went a more secure route and setup an OpenVPN tunnel between server and home. Although I run IPBX as the OpenVPN "Client" and pfSense as the "Server", it can be easily done in reverse. I did it this way as I already have OpenVPN configured for PC access to the house, as well as hosting a mail server in the cloud.
I've been running this way across multiple versions of IPBX now for at least 7 years or so.