TRY THIS IncrediblePBX 13-13-LEAN fails on fresh CentOS 7

Discussion in 'PBX in a Flash 5' started by Mike Wayne, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. Mike Wayne

    Mike Wayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I told Ward but putting this here as a warning to others.

    Fresh VM at Vultr running CentOS 7 x64

    Followed the install instructions at http://nerdvittles.com/?p=23948 exactly, multiple times. After the scripts does the first reboot, there is no way to log in to the machine, even in single user mode from the console. Tried a second account using tcsh, that can not log in either so something very vital is getting corrupted. Server is online but it seems that no shell works.

    There is an issue with the code that updates the nameserver. I commented out the reboot and went looking. Saw this in etc:
    [root@r3 /etc]# ls -l res*
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 65 Nov 29 00:34 resolv.conf
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 47 Nov 29 01:51 resolv.conf? echo nameserver

    That ? is a <LF>. And of course resolv.conf has the original values that Vultr installed and is now immutable.

    But this should not prevent logins
     
  2. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    Will look into this with CentOS 7. CENTOS 7 IS NOT RECOMMDED!!

    Immediate fix goes like this:

    Code:
    chattr -i /etc/resolv.conf
    echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf
    chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf
    reboot
    
     
  3. krzykat

    krzykat Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    322
    And I've encountered that even on Centos 6 on Vultr, so not only a Centos 7 issue.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  4. Mike Wayne

    Mike Wayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gave up on CentOS 7. There's a lot of code in the install script suggesting that 7 is supported but I did not want to mess with it. Vultr does not offer 6.10 installs anymore so I had to do an ISO install. Might want to mark 7 as unsupported in he script like the 32 bit version already is.

    First part of install seemed to go cleanly, so it's an issue with 7.

    Found (and fixed) a minor issue with fail2ban (the mkdir needs to have the -p option).

    The upgrade to Whole Enchilada uses tput, instead of the more correct stty so it gets the wrong values for terminal size. For a quick fix, before running
    ./Enchilada-upgrade.sh
    export the LINES and columns with
    export LINES
    export COLUMNS
    and the size check will work correctly. To correct the script to work correctly, use the following lines in place of the ones using tput:
    COLUMNSIZE=`/bin/stty -a | /bin/grep columns | /bin/sed 's/^.*columns \([0-9]*\);.*/\1/'`
    LINESIZE=`/bin/stty -a | /bin/grep rows | /bin/sed 's/^.*rows \([0-9]*\);.*/\1/'`
     
  5. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    Installer has been fixed. There was an extra set of quotes at the end of the echo lines. Bug indeed! Thanks.
     
  6. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    Huh? We just tested two CentOS 6.x installs at Vultr this morning.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mike Wayne

    Mike Wayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Might be available because you installed it before? I don't get that option:
    upload_2018-11-29_14-57-59.png
     
  8. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    @Mike Wayne: Thanks for the fixes. We've updated the installer. The screen sizing code is no longer needed at all and will be removed when we take out the Google Voice stuff. If you want to work through the CentOS 7 install failures and post your notes, we'll be glad to incorporate the changes. Thanks again.
     
  9. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    Did you click on the CentOS blue highlighted area? That opens up the options. Their "Select Version" language just happens to be missing.
     
  10. Mike Wayne

    Mike Wayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I swear I tried that a couple of days ago and there was no 6.x available.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  11. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,351
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    @Mike Wayne: I think we've gotten the remaining kinks out of the CentOS 7 64-bit install. Try a fresh install and let us know how it goes. Part of the problem has been the CentOS folks continually moving the goalposts. Our apologies.
     

Share This Page