PIONEERS Incredible PBX Installers

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
Just wanted to document for everyone what the long-term vision for Incredible PBX is. We're gradually reworking Incredible PBX 11 into a self-contained module for all platforms.

Incredible PBX 11 is pure open source GPL2 code so you can embellish it in any way you like. The goal is to get all of the platforms in sync including CentOS 6.5 and 7, Scientific Linux 6.5 and 7, Ubuntu 14, Fedora 20, and Raspbian. You won't need a base PBX in a Flash or RasPBX platform to install Incredible PBX 11 although you still will be able to go this route if desired. All platforms will have the automatic update utility built in.



Ultimately, we hope to get to a single installer for Incredible PBX 11. For now, they're separate. The advantage to the new design is you should be able to move between platforms with a simple backup and restore which is now available using the latest Incredible Backup 11.

Once we get all of the Asterisk 11/FreePBX 2.11 platforms stabilized with Incredible PBX 11, we then will release Incredible PBX 12 with Asterisk 12/FreePBX 12 for all of the platforms.

We introduced the new Fedora 20 and Ubuntu 14 versions of Incredible PBX 11 last month. We introduced the new CentOS 7 and Scientific Linux 7 version of Incredible PBX 11 last week. And tomorrow we'll release the new Incredible PBX 3.11.11 for the Raspberry Pi B+. That leaves CentOS 6.5 and Scientific Linux 6.5 still to do.

For the pioneers, I'm pleased to announce that we have an enhanced flavor of last week's CentOS 7 installer that now supports both CentOS 7 and CentOS 6.5 (64-bit versions only!) as well as the Scientific Linux flavors. The objective here is to have a production-ready platform so please give it a healthy workout and provide any recommendations/suggestions/bug reports. Thanks.

1 (a). Begin by loading a minimal ISO install of 64-bit CentOS 6.5 or Scientific Linux 6.5 (no SL minimal ISO is available). Or...

1 (b). VirtualBox images (root:password) for SL-minimal are available on SourceForge for both 6.5 and 7 if you just want to experiment.

2. Then issue the following commands:
Code:
cd /root
yum -y install net-tools wget nano
wget http://incrediblepbx.com/incrediblepbx11.4.centos.tar.gz
tar zxvf incrediblepbx*
./IncrediblePBX*
p.s. Scientific Linux 6.5 still needs a little cleanup on the status app, but we know about it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeff.h

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
lucorium: Good idea. We'll work on it. In the meantime...

Incredible PBX has always been a superset of PIAF with a number of additional applications for Asterisk. Any of the more recent Nerd Vittles articles will walk you through what those utilities are. In addition, we've hardened Incredible PBX to lock down IPtables as part of the initial install, and we've eased the remote access hurdle with PortKnocker. It also includes an automatic update utility that brings your system current each time you log in as root. And we plan to add (or you can add) Incredible Backup 11 and Restore) to any of the builds to make fast, reliable backups. It's included in the new CentOS installer above. By design, there should be nothing in PIAF that isn't also supported in and compatible with Incredible PBX.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
415
Location
South Florida
Is there any chance of getting Teleyapper included? Seems as if it hasn't seen an update in like 4 years and doesn't work on current platform.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
krzykat: I'm a bit torn on TeleYapper. On the one hand, I'd love to provide it for community emergencies and little league teams. On the other, I do not want to provide a product that helps telemarketers or politicians ruin people's private time with their families. Our SMS Blaster software works well for BOTH community emergencies and little league teams without aiding and abetting the dirt bags. So the short answer is "I don't really know whether to rework it or not." Having said that, commercial implementations particularly in the medical field are still a possibility on a case by case basis.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
Just a heads up that Digital Ocean does NOT create a swap file or swap partition as part of their builds. You will want one, or you may experience problems when you run out of RAM... especially on the 512MB droplets.

Here's how for CentOS only:
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=1024k
chown root:root /swapfile
chmod 0600 /swapfile
mkswap /swapfile
swapon /swapfile
echo "/swapfile          swap            swap    defaults        0 0" >> /etc/fstab
sysctl vm.swappiness=10
echo vm.swappiness=10 >> /etc/sysctl.conf
free -h
cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
Here's how for Ubuntu:
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=1024k
chown root:root /swapfile
chmod 0600 /swapfile
mkswap /swapfile
swapon /swapfile
echo "/swapfile      none    swap    sw      0      0" >> /etc/fstab
echo 10 | sudo tee /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
echo vm.swappiness = 10 | sudo tee -a /etc/sysctl.conf
free -h
 

jeff.h

Guru
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
482
Reaction score
70
I tried to create a swap file on a droplet running CentOS 6.5 64bit and get this in the output...

[[email protected] ~]# free -h
free: invalid option -- 'h'
usage: free [-b|-k|-m|-g] [-l] [-o] [-t] [-s delay] [-c count] [-V]
-b,-k,-m,-g show output in bytes, KB, MB, or GB
-l show detailed low and high memory statistics
-o use old format (no -/+buffers/cache line)
-t display total for RAM + swap
-s update every [delay] seconds
-c update [count] times
-a show available memory if exported by kernel (>80 characters per line)
-V display version information and exit
 

mainenotarynet

Not really a Guru - Just a long time user
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
603
Reaction score
74
Location
Bangor, ME USA
Not a DO user but no its not supposed to be a link -- its the command

you typed free -h --> free is the command and the -h is for help using the command. That is why you got the output of all the optional switches.

so from what I gather, free by itself will show your free memory. But also try the command free -t which from above post will show your total memory (RAM and swap)

And a free -m -t will show total memory in Megabytes.

Hope this helps.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
Actually free -h meant "human" but it doesn't work in all Linux flavors. free -m seems to be more generic and works everywhere we've tried it. Thanks.

 

jeff.h

Guru
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
482
Reaction score
70
Ok this is what I got....

[email protected]:~ $ free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 502272 408392 93880 396 37764 208004
-/+ buffers/cache: 162624 339648
Swap: 1048568 0 1048568

[email protected]:~ $ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 490 408 81 0 36 213
-/+ buffers/cache: 158 331
Swap: 1023 0 1023
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,154
Reaction score
2,632
Ok this is what I got....

[email protected]:~ $ free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 502272 408392 93880 396 37764 208004
-/+ buffers/cache: 162624 339648
Swap: 1048568 0 1048568

[email protected]:~ $ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 490 408 81 0 36 213
-/+ buffers/cache: 158 331
Swap: 1023 0 1023
The point is: you have a working swap file.
 

jeff.h

Guru
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
482
Reaction score
70
Right... sorry.... was just reporting back with the free command sans -h.
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,376
Messages
137,427
Members
14,578
Latest member
BoRoDKuH