NEW Incredible 16-15.2 for CentOS 7

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
With the latest installer, the following update command works without a problem on Vultr so this must be an issue with Hosting73:
Code:
yum -y update --exclude=system*
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
We've also verified that yum -y update now works without a problem as well.
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
We've also verified that yum -y update now works without a problem as well.
I spun up a VM on Vultr and installed 16-15.2 and it works perfectly. I don't know how to even explain the problem in a ticket to Hosting73. Very strange behavior but I don't know to what it should be attributed. :banghead:
 

sortons

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
I tried installing 16-15.2 on a WelcomeHosting KVM - without an OS update, with full update and --exclude=system* update (each on a fresh CentOS 7 image.)
The 2 types of update fail at different stages - I opened a ticket with them re CentOS image update failure. No answer so far.
Trying to install 16-15.2 on CentOS image without any update (based on the earlier Incredible16-15.2-noupdate script) failed too.
I have a log of all the different types of failure but I believe they're all irrelevant at this point.
Hosting73 cheap VPS has issues of its own and was unable to get a functional system.
Vultr works fine on a fresh install performed yesterday.

Where do we go from here?
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

sortons

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
...and BTW the Hosting73 issues I had the other day (same as @kenn10) where df -h reports 11GB used out of 25GB with 0GB free are now gone. The system is stable (as it was over the past several months) and the free space is correctly reported. A hick-up of sorts, I guess...
My previous post was in reference to a new install attempt, current installs on that platform are working well.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
Sounds like SolusVM may have made an "improvement" in a recent update that breaks things. That's about par for the course with them according to the folks I know that have to deal with them regularly.

Testing CloudAtCost now...
 
Last edited:

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
By the way, if you're opening tickets, I suggest just going through the Phase I install which doesn't load any Asterisk-specific pieces but does install MySQL/MariaDB. See if systemctl restart mariadb and systemctl status mariadb work after completion of Phase I. If not, that would be the thing to report since that is basic LAMP functionality.
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
By the way, if you're opening tickets, I suggest just going through the Phase I install which doesn't load any Asterisk-specific pieces but does install MySQL/MariaDB. See if systemctl restart mariadb and systemctl status mariadb work after completion of Phase I. If not, that would be the thing to report since that is basic LAMP functionality.
At the end of the phase-1 install, I manually installed fail2ban to test that idea and it would not start. The systemctl start command hangs and eventually times out. Like @sortons says, my older Hosting73 VM has not been re-imaged in a couple of weeks and it is working fine.
 

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
1,013
Reaction score
335
Seems like lots of hacking required to make things work with CentOS. Have you guys tried Debian?
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
Seems like lots of hacking required to make things work with CentOS. Have you guys tried Debian?
I don't think this has anything to do with CentOS per se since CentOS 7 works perfectly on Vultr. As I said, I think it's a recent change in the SolusVM platform that a lot of these low-cost providers use. So... I don't think the results would be any different with Debian or Ubuntu.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
At the end of the phase-1 install, I manually installed fail2ban to test that idea and it would not start. The systemctl start command hangs and eventually times out. Like @sortons says, my older Hosting73 VM has not been re-imaged in a couple of weeks and it is working fine.
Just an FYI that Fail2Ban requires a valid FQDN to start up properly. Did you try stopping and starting MariaDB?? That would rule out the FQDN issue.
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
Just an FYI that Fail2Ban requires a valid FQDN to start up properly. Did you try stopping and starting MariaDB?? That would rule out the FQDN issue.
Just did and the restart of MariaDB works. Systemctl works OK for that.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,404
Reaction score
2,734
@kenn10: So... we're good through the Phase I install. Ugh!

Can you check your prior log and see where the first systemctl failure occurs?? That would tell us what's making things come unglued.
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
@kenn10: So... we're good through the Phase I install. Ugh!

Can you check your prior log and see where the first systemctl failure occurs?? That would tell us what's making things come unglued.
I'll run the phase-2 install and take a look.
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
This is the first location that it hangs:

Updating asterisk.conf
/usr/bin/install -c -d "/var/spool/asterisk/voicemail/default/1234/INBOX"
build_tools/make_sample_voicemail "//var/lib/asterisk" "//var/spool/asterisk"
Installing file phoneprov/000000000000-directory.xml
Installing file phoneprov/000000000000-phone.cfg
Installing file phoneprov/000000000000.cfg
Installing file phoneprov/polycom.xml
Installing file phoneprov/polycom_line.xml
Installing file phoneprov/snom-mac.xml
Starting asterisk (via systemctl):
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
221
@wardmundy It looks like there may be some compile errors after compiling Asterisk. See attachment of partial log
 

Attachments

sortons

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Here are two (empirical) observations on the topic above:
1. A fully functional system running for several months on CentOS 7.6 (updated from a 7.0 image through the script) gracefully took the yum -y update and it now reveals itself as CentOS Linux release 7.7.1908 (Core)
2. A newly installed CentOS 7 system (my observation is that it now takes about triple the time to have the VPS re-imaged) would go through
yum -y update --exclude=system* and show CentOS Linux release 7.0.1406 (Core). After that the first phase install fails - log attached here.
Legend: first point is in reference to a Hosting73 image, 2nd one a WelcomeHosting KVM (both Solus based.)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

hawk#1

Active Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
44
Sounds like SolusVM may have made an "improvement" in a recent update that breaks things. That's about par for the course with them according to the folks I know that have to deal with them regularly.

Testing CloudAtCost now...
@wardmundy , out of curiosity, what was the results of your cloudatcost test?
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,562
Messages
138,878
Members
14,670
Latest member
turanmustafa