NO JOY Hylafax won't answer line

AndyInNYC

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
545
Reaction score
77
Suddenly, my Hylafax line doesn't answer.

Background - while trying the command line 'sendfax' I found the /MediaBox error was popping up, so I googled to try to find a fix. I don't *think* I made any changes to any config files.

I did a Clonezilla backup and then ended up restoring the same backup after finding that the fax line wouldn't answer.

My incoming voice and outgoing voice work fine. The one DID forwarded to hylafax (all are with flowroute) won't pick up, and any jobs I queue with either the Avantfax webpage or via print driver sit in the queue and are eventually killed via a timeout 'timed out Kill time expired'.

If I change the destination of any of the other DIDS to Hylafax, they don't get picked up either.

The 'hungup' at the end of the code below is me hanging up from the cellphone calling the fax line - it will ring forever otherwise.

I've checked the Avantfax page, but I don't have any queued jobs (I killed them).

I have removed personal info from the code below and substituted a phrase (for email, phone numbers, etc.)

Code:
  == Using SIP RTP CoS mark 5
    -- Executing [[email protected]:1] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "CALLERID(num)=MYPHONE") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:2] Goto("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "from-trunk,FAXLINE,1") in new stack
    -- Goto (from-trunk,FAXLINE,1)
    -- Executing [[email protected]:1] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "__FROM_DID=FAXLINE") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:2] Gosub("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "sub-record-cancel,s,1()") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:1] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "__REC_POLICY_MODE=") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:2] ExecIf("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "1?Return()") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:3] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "__REC_POLICY_MODE=never") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:4] Gosub("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "app-blacklist-check,s,1()") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:1] GotoIf("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "0?blacklisted") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:2] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "CALLED_BLACKLIST=1") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:3] Return("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:5] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "CDR(did)=FAXLINE") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:6] ExecIf("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "1 ?Set(CALLERID(name)=MYPHONE)") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:7] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "CHANNEL(musicclass)=default") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:8] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "__MOHCLASS=default") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:9] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "__CALLINGPRES_SV=allowed_not_screened") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:10] Set("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "CALLERPRES()=allowed_not_screened") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:11] Goto("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "custom-fax-iaxmodem,s,1") in new stack
    -- Goto (custom-fax-iaxmodem,s,1)
    -- Executing [[email protected]:1] Answer("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:2] Wait("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "1") in new stack
    -- Executing [[email protected]:3] SendDTMF("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "1") in new stack
       > 0x2f64340 -- Probation passed - setting RTP source address to 74.120.93.199:42830
    -- Executing [[email protected]:4] Dial("SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009", "IAX2/iax-fax0/s") in new stack
    -- Called IAX2/iax-fax0/s
    -- Call accepted by 127.0.0.1 (format ulaw)
    -- Format for call is (ulaw)
    -- IAX2/iax-fax0-6758 is ringing
    -- Hungup 'IAX2/iax-fax0-6758'
  == Spawn extension (custom-fax-iaxmodem, s, 4) exited non-zero on 'SIP/flowrouteLV-00000009'

My current system is:

Code:
                                          ┌────────────────────────SYSTEM INFORMATION───────────────────────────┐
                                          │  Asterisk   = ONLINE  | Dahdi     = ONLINE  | MySQL     = ONLINE    │
                                          │  SSH        = ONLINE  | Apache    = ONLINE  | Iptables  = ONLINE    │
                                          │  Fail2ban   = ONLINE  | Internet  = ONLINE  | Ip6Tables = ONLINE    │
                                          │  Disk Free  = ADEQUATE| Mem Free  = ADEQUATE| NTPD      = ONLINE    │
                                          │  SendMail   = ONLINE  | Samba     = OFFLINE | Webmin    = ONLINE    │
                                          │  Ethernet0  = ONLINE  | Ethernet1 = N/A     | Wlan0     = N/A       │
                                          │                                                                     │
                                          │  PIAF Installed Version   = 2.0.6.5 under *HARDWARE*                │
                                          │  FreePBX Version          = 2.11.0.38                               │
                                          │  Running Asterisk Version = 11.10.0                                 │
                                          │  Asterisk Source Version  = 11.10.0                                 │
                                          │  Dahdi Source Version     = 2.9.0                                   │
                                          │  Libpri Source Version    = 1.4.14                                  │
                                          │  IP Address               = 192.168.40.29 on eth0                   │
                                          │  Operating System         = CentOS release 6.5 (Final)              │
                                          │  Kernel Version           = 2.6.32-431.1.2.0.1.el6.x86_64 - 64 Bit  │
                                          │  Incredible Version       = 11.10                                   │
                                          └──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
faxstat shows 4 modems running and idle.

the file xferfaxlog has the lines (among others):

Code:
10/31/17 00:59  SUBMIT                  68      ""      [email protected]   "FAXLINE"   ""      0       0       0:00:00 0:00:00 "Submitted"     ""      ""      ""      "faxuser"   $
10/31/17 03:26  UNSENT                  67      ""      [email protected]   "FAXLINE"   ""      0       0       0:00:00 0:00:00 "Kill time expired {E325}"      ""      ""      ""  $
10/31/17 03:58  UNSENT                  68      ""      [email protected]   "FAXLINE"   ""      0       0       0:00:00 0:00:00 "Kill time expired {E325}"      ""      ""      ""  $
I'm not sure what error logs would be appropriate to look at here (or where they hide). I'd hate to do a full reinstall because I killed my fax line.

Help?


Andrew
 

AndyInNYC

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
545
Reaction score
77
I was just able to send a fax (coverpage only) from the AvantFax web page. This keeps getting more and more weird.

Andrew
 

dicko

Still learning but earning
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Messages
651
Reaction score
238
The version of ghostscript is often a problem where
Logrotate files in /var/spool/hylafax/logs

Iaxmodem ones wherever your iaxmodem config file (s) says

Avantfax has logs also in its gui
 
Last edited:

AndyInNYC

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
545
Reaction score
77
I can't find a 'current' installation version of ghostscript (9.22?). I'm on 8.7. Any suggestions? The posts I've seen reference a download which doesn't exist anymore. I don't know how to use git to compile for myself.

Andrew
 

AndyInNYC

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
545
Reaction score
77
Dicko,

Thanks. I had found this, but they suggest you not use the binary, but instead compile "if you find this version works for you". Plus, I'm not sure where to put the 'new version' so that it overwrites/is used instead of the old version.

What I have done is fix the /MediaBox problem by creating a file in /var/spool/hylafax/etc called FaxModify with the line

FIXEDWIDTH="-dEPSFitPage -dPDFFitPage"

This seems to overcome the problem for now.


Andrew
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,377
Messages
137,433
Members
14,578
Latest member
BoRoDKuH