SOLVED How can I make a phone immediately call another extension when picked up (Like a doorphone)

nateornat

Member
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
59
Reaction score
5
Location
Arizona
Im' running Incredible PBX 13-13, I have a couple guest phones that we want to call immediately to an extension, when they are picked up. They do not need to call anywhere else. I think this can be done through the dial-plan somehow, but not sure. Maybe custom context? You assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,011
Reaction score
207
Im' running Incredible PBX 13-13, I have a couple guest phones that we want to call immediately to an extension, when they are picked up. They do not need to call anywhere else. I think this can be done through the dial-plan somehow, but not sure. Maybe custom context? You assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
What you are looking for is commonly referred to as "hotline" service. Asterisk/FreePBX/IncrediblePBX have no way to do this for SIP telephones. It may be possible if using analog phones via DAHDI or with some analog terminal adapters. For SIP devices, it is normally accomplished on the device as a feature on that phone. You'll need to research your phone features for your devices. Check for hotline, autodial, etc. to see if such a feature is available on your device.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,579
Reaction score
427
Location
South Florida
I have a couple guest phones that we want to call immediately to an extension, when they are picked up. They do not need to call anywhere else. I think this can be done through the dial-plan somehow, but not sure.
As Kenn10 said, it is a function you will find via your phone, not the PBX. Grandstream are pretty decent cheap phones to do this with, and you can find this under Call Feature -> Off-Hook Auto Dial.
On Yealink, it is under Features -> Hotline Number.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nateornat

MGD4me

Guru
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
429
Reaction score
56
Location
British Columbia
If I recall, you can also accomplish this function using an ATA and a basic analogue phone. Even better if you can find a phone with no dial or keypad. Programm the ATA to immediately dial any number, or extension.
 

nateornat

Member
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
59
Reaction score
5
Location
Arizona
As Kenn10 said, it is a function you will find via your phone, not the PBX. Grandstream are pretty decent cheap phones to do this with, and you can find this under Call Feature -> Off-Hook Auto Dial.
On Yealink, it is under Features -> Hotline Number.

Perfect, I was using Grandstream Phones, and it was right where you said, and was very simple to do. Thanks again everyone! Awesome forum once again!
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,450
Messages
138,038
Members
14,613
Latest member
roshan2019