Help with Cisco 7912G

jerm

Reaction score
Hope there's someone who can give me some direction.

Two weeks ago I was sitting at my computer at the butt crack of the night and was looking into this whole VoIP thing and what it had to offer when I stumbled upon this site announcing PBX in a flash, which had been posted not 30 mins prior. I must have been one of the first to download. I've never used Asterisk before, but I've been reading and learning a lot in these last two weeks.

I went wild on eBay and have a truck load of Cisco 7912G phones, a server to take over the world, a few PoE switches, etc. etc. I got over excited. :eek:

So I set up a basic system, got some extensions going, a few DIDs, a private number in Long Beach, CA, you name it. It's great!

The one thing I'm trying to do is I have a guy that lives out in bum f- nowhere and I figured why not give him a Cisco 7912G, have him plug it into his DSL and give him an extension and we have a nice little external "internal" system. I pick up the phone and dial extension 206 and presto! Give him a DID, whatever I want. Only problem is that I have waded through forum after forum, document after document and have not been able to find an exact way to make this work. I have found things that gave me a general idea, and I've been experimenting for a good two days now but haven't been able to make it work. The closest I got was dialing from my side and it rings on the other end and gives me a fast busy signal at the same time and that's about it.

If anyone could give me any sort of direction on this, I would very much appreciate it. Tks.

Jer

jroper

Guru
Reaction score
Hi

Congratulations on progress so far.

So the first thing you need to check is whether the DID is arriving at your box.

Open up an Asterisk CLI -(asterisk -rvvvv) then dial the inbound number, and see if anything happens.