GOOD NEWS GVSIP Registration Issues. Asterisk 13.23.0 Seems To Fix The Problem.

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Vladimir Mikhelson, Aug 14, 2018.

  1. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes I have /etc/cron.hourly i am running centos 6.10
    i followed your instructions, i will give you an update and let you know how it works!
    again thank you very much
     
  2. Vladimir Mikhelson

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ariban,

    Sorry, I have just noticed one mistake in my instructions.

    Please run:
    Code:
    sudo chmod 700 /root/scripts/gvsip-reg
    You can always test the script just by running it.

    -Vladimir
     
    ariban likes this.
  3. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    thank you, yes i figure that one out, i got an error no permission, so i changed it.
     
  4. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi Vladimir,
    i just wanted to update you.
    the script works to keep everything registered (if i type show-trunks) but somehow gvsip is still not connected, i have to actually type amportal restart and then it works again.

    i am not sure what else to do. anyway we can add amportal restart to the script after it registers gvsip?
     
  5. DoubleDriveLine

    DoubleDriveLine New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried doing the update in post 13 of this thread. That fixed the issue for me although when I did it 13.23.1 was the current version. It has been running without missing a beat since then.
     
  6. kdthomas

    kdthomas Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can someone provide a link to download "gvsip-naf.patch"?
     
  7. ajonate

    ajonate Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    I went ahead and upgraded again because 13.23.0---->13.23.1 is a security update to fix a particular vulnerability.

    Remote crash vulnerability in HTTP websocket upgrade There is a stack overflow vulnerability in the res_http_websocket.so module of Asterisk that allows an attacker to crash Asterisk via a specially crafted HTTP request to upgrade the connection to a websocket. The attacker’s request causes Asterisk to run out of stack space and crash.
    https://www.asterisk.org/downloads/...and-1321-cert3-now-available-security-release
     
  8. Vladimir Mikhelson

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ariban,

    Have you tested the script by manually running it at the time of having no GVSIP connectivity? What was the message you received?

    It is not a good idea to restart the asterisk every hour since it will drop all existing connections, and it takes a minute or so to complete.

    Just FYI, ever since I upgraded to 13.23.0 the issue became pretty minor for me. After I started running the script, 10 days or so, I have had just one instance of the script performing the registration on three (3) channels. It sounds like maybe something else is going on in your case.

    -Vladimir
     
  9. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi Vladmir
    I tested the script, it showed registered after testing the script but still i needed to run amportal restart for it to work.
    When is asterisk 13.23 coming out?
    I read above in this forum that someone tried updating and they broke their pbx, is there going to be a update from incrediblepbx?
     
  10. ajonate

    ajonate Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's not too difficult to do. I've done it on two servers without incident.

    1. Install IncrediblePBX 13-13. That will install Asterisk 13.21.

    2. Install GVSIP-NAF. That will also install Asterisk 13.22. (if the gvsip-naf directory already exists in /root then only do the last two steps)

    cd /root
    wget http://incrediblepbx.com/gvsip-naf-gui.tar.gz
    tar zxvf gvsip-naf-gui.tar.gz
    rm -f gvsip-naf-gui.tar.gz
    cd gvsip-naf
    ./install-gvsip


    Agree to upgrade. Among other things, that will install Asterisk 13.22. You might want to create at least one GVSIP trunk at this point to convince yourself that it works. Do not advance to the next step before installing GVSIP-NAF using the steps above.

    3. Upgrade to Asterisk 13.23.1.

    cd /usr/src
    wget http://downloads.asterisk.org/pub/telephony/asterisk/asterisk-13-current.tar.gz
    tar xvfz asterisk-13-current.tar.gz
    cd asterisk-13.23.1
    contrib/scripts/get_mp3_source.sh
    contrib/scripts/install_prereq install
    patch -p1 < ../gvsip-naf.patch
    ./configure --with-pjproject-bundled --with-jansson-bundled
    make menuselect
    make
    ldconfig
    make install
    amportal restart
     
    #50 ajonate, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
    wardmundy and ariban like this.
  11. Vladimir Mikhelson

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ajonate,

    One minor correction
    Code:
    contrib/scripts/install_prereq install
    
    -Vladimir
     
    wardmundy and ariban like this.
  12. Vladimir Mikhelson

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ariban,

    13.23 is a key part, my script just fixes Asterisk's pjsip implementation minor omissions in the registration / re-registration process.

    -Vladimir
     
    wardmundy and ariban like this.
  13. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    i backed up my server, and now running update. i will let you know what happens.
    you guys are the best! thank you
     
  14. ajonate

    ajonate Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    Good catch. Thanks.

    I've corrected it in the post.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  15. ariban

    ariban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok, update!!

    I upgraded, i now have 13.23.1 asterisk version
    it worked for about a day, and then it disconnected, i ran ./show-trunks and it shows all gvsip as registered (i ran your script too just in case but it came back saying its all registered and nothing to do)
    only solution again was to type amportal restart
     
  16. weenus500

    weenus500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    After a number of weeks of problem free service today I woke up to this unhappy reality: "gvsip1/sip:eek:bihai.sip.google.com gvsip1 Rejected" :( on my two raspi servers. I hope that following the procedure for the upgrade to 13.23.1 will get the google voice trunk working again.
     
  17. chadkouse

    chadkouse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the vbox image and have this problem registering.. so I ran the update and now I am getting:

    Code:
    [2018-10-12 11:59:28] WARNING[2099]: pjproject:0 <?>:                        SSL SSL_ERROR_SSL (Handshake): Level: 0 err: <336151568> <SSL routines-ssl3_read_bytes-sslv3 alert handshake failure> len: 0
    Any ideas?
     
  18. McGonzo

    McGonzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, I had a system running for several weeks and just got this error as well.
     
  19. weenus500

    weenus500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm just wondering if some small tweak could be done to the way pjsip registers with google instead of this massive reinstall operation to fix the problem.
     
  20. weenus500

    weenus500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had problem with step 7. It didn't run at all so being a smart chimp I looked for where it might be on the box and I found these two.
    patch -pl < /root/gvsip-naf/gvsip-naf.patch
    patch -pl < /usr/src/gvsip-naf.patch

    They both came back with this message.

    patch: **** strip count l is not a number
    I skipped this step 7. and end result is that gvsip wouldn't work.
    Maybe some kind soul could help me out with this.
     

Share This Page