GOOD NEWS GVsip: GVoice-to-SIP Gateway

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,246
Reaction score
2,670
GVsip matching Simon Telephonics intro price this week with coupon code: GVSIP1
 

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,246
Reaction score
2,670
Create the two gMail accounts, log into each account, and sign up. You can configure the rest later.
 

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
i did crate a google account and verified my ipkall adress. with the gogle account but i donot get any googlevoip number

i try to get a googlenumberfor m ipkall number

i want a new number seemsnot to work

evertimeappearsthis:
The forwarding phone on your account cannot be used to obtain a Google Voice number.

what does this mean?
 

VaHam

Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
Ok I have both Vestalink Gateway (GVsip) and billsion's Gateway on different Goggle voice lines of coarse setup and working. As basic in/out trunks they both work fine using ulaw on each the quality sounds the same to me. Bill's gateway offers G729 & ulaw. GVsip adds G722 but I have not tried the G722 yet.

I think there is some confusion, in my feeble mind anyway, regarding the GVsip ability to change "DID".

When tycho said "GVSip allows you to change the GV DID associated with your account. Once logged-in with your credentials for your paid-for account, you can switch to a different GV DID and call-out reflecting that DID. I believe (but could be wrong) that Bill's Simonics gateway is associated with a single GV DID and login, and that another account would be required for a different GV DID/login."

I think he simply means you can switch from one GV line (GV account) being associated with the gateway account to a different GV line. I wonder if Bill's Deauthorize/Re-authorize may not actually allow the same thing? (I HAVE NOT TRIED THAT YET); perhaps Bill can tell us if that is the case.

**** Of coarse Bill's having CNAM sent is a huge added feature especially for folks who are not using a PBX and therefore don't have the ability to do lookups themselves. ***

I also like Bill's multi-device registration feature!!! One of the handy things is that the devices can be located anywhere; so if you have a location where you would like an extension which rings simultaneously with a local incoming call and allows you to call between extensions using extension numbers this works like champ. I first setup a trunk using the multi-device instructions Bill provides of his website and got that working then I did remote login to one of my family members computers and set up a softphone using the sip credentials according again to Bill's instructions and voila! When a call to the gateway number comes in it rings both here and on the remote softphone where either can take the call. I can also call the remote extension using only it's extension number in my case 102 since the local one is 101 and visa versa. This would be great for things like vacation homes or even locations in different countries (I would suspect). All of this with zero footprint even between simple extension to extension calls.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

tycho

Guru (not...)
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
594
Reaction score
229
I think there is some confusion, in my feeble mind anyway, regarding the GVsip ability to change "DID".

When tycho said "GVSip allows you to change the GV DID associated with your account. Once logged-in with your credentials for your paid-for account, you can switch to a different GV DID and call-out reflecting that DID. I believe (but could be wrong) that Bill's Simonics gateway is associated with a single GV DID and login, and that another account would be required for a different GV DID/login."

I think he simply means you can switch from one GV line (GV account) being associated with the gateway account to a different GV line. I wonder if Bill's Deauthorize/Re-authorize may not actually allow the same thing? (I HAVE NOT TRIED THAT YET); perhaps Bill can tell us if that is the case..

To clarify, what I was attempting to convey in what you quoted above relates only to the outbound CID reflected and seen by the called party. I should have said and call-out reflecting that >C<ID to be more clear.

I find that capability handy. I have several GV accounts. I have one, main, account used extensively for both inbound and outbound calling. I have practically zero interest in calls to the other accounts actually reaching me directly -- they are set to go directly to VM within GV. But, if I do happen to get a VM on one of those numbers, it is handy to be able to return the call and -- when doing so -- show the CID of that DID. The capability I described using the GVSip gateway lets me do that.

"That is all..." ;)
 

VaHam

Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
TIP: Using Bill Simon's GV Gateway and his multi-device setup you can also sip dial any of the extensions directly and have only that extension ring.

[email protected]

Where ZZZZZZZZZZ = your 10 digit GV DID

The x1 would be the multi-device extension you setup as x1. Just replace the x1 with x2, x3 etc to call the other devices
 

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
995
Reaction score
330
I forgot to change the price tag this morning. Last call for the $3.99 promotional price on Google Voice Gateway (https://simonics.com/gw/ ). Regular price of $5.99 after today.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
the service is still not clear to me. i just registered and did pay. do i need for every number a new account. I am new to google voice and for the moment i do not know what is it for this gateway. anyways did thought i try it, to have more ease to follow wardmundy guides.
can i use more than one google number with it and can i use more than one US Phonenumber with it? or i do need for each a extra account? IPKALL service is down nd so i can not make me a google number to play with it.
 

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
995
Reaction score
330
the service is still not clear to me. i just registered and did pay. do i need for every number a new account. I am new to google voice and for the moment i do not know what is it for this gateway. anyways did thought i try it, to have more ease to follow wardmundy guides.
can i use more than one google number with it and can i use more than one US Phonenumber with it? or i do need for each a extra account? IPKALL service is down nd so i can not make me a google number to play with it.

The service is very simple. Each Google Voice line is an account with GVGW. Yes, there's a setup fee per line.

The service provided is a SIP connection that provides incoming and outgoing calling on your Google Voice number. You can register multiple SIP devices to have a sort of key system. All will ring on inbound calls; all can place calls outbound. You can call and transfer between the extensions.

IPKall will not be useful to you with Google Voice. GV has prohibited IPKall numbers from being used with their service.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tycho

bonelifer

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
billsimon, great service. I can confirm it even works with the free grand-fathered, Google Apps for Your Domain accounts. Even at 5.99 it's well worth it.
 

tycho

Guru (not...)
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
594
Reaction score
229
IPKall will not be useful to you with Google Voice. GV has prohibited IPKall numbers from being used with their service.

Somehow I missed this bit of news, not that it affects me because I do not forward GV to IPKall. I thought many people still did. Makes the gateways all the more important!
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,246
Reaction score
2,670
For those using Incredible PBX for Asterisk-GUI, simply download and run our One-Click Installer. You’ll need your SIP Login Name and SIP Password from Simonics registration plus a two-digit dialing prefix to use for outbound calls. It’s that simple!
Code:
cd /root
wget http://incrediblepbx.com/simonics-addon.tar.gz
tar zxvf simonics-addon.tar.gz
rm -f simonics-addon.tar.gz
./simonics-addon.sh
To register multiple trunks, just change TRUNK entry in simonics-addon.sh from simonics to simonics2, etc.
 

VaHam

Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
TIP:
Following up on the sip dial ability of each extension you have setup using simonics gateway multi-device that each of the devices can then have it's own unique DID in addition to the GV DID for incoming calls. Simply signup for a free ipkall DID and use the sip address as I outlined above as the sip destination for the ipkall DID. Repeat that procedure for each device you wish to have it's own individual incoming DID. That way anyone can place calls directly to each device individually, without ringing the other devices, by calling it's individual ipkall DID.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

voip_user

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
53
Reaction score
24
Location
Baltimore
Takes for the link ward. I signed up for this and so far so good. My wife and family has been using 40 dollars a month in flow route calls. She damn near has the phone glued to her ear all day, but doesn't like cell phones. we have a new baby and everyone around us is having babies hence the ladies are chatting all day. So far so good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
995
Reaction score
330
Somehow I missed this bit of news, not that it affects me because I do not forward GV to IPKall. I thought many people still did. Makes the gateways all the more important!

I should clarify this. I am not sure whether you can continue to use IPKall numbers that are already affiliated with Google Voice. I just know that you can't associate new IPkall numbers. My understanding of the original question here was that he wanted to set up a new GV account using IPKall as a forwarding number, and that won't work.
 

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
I should clarify this. I am not sure whether you can continue to use IPKall numbers that are already affiliated with Google Voice. I just know that you can't associate new IPkall numbers. My understanding of the original question here was that he wanted to set up a new GV account using IPKall as a forwarding number, and that won't work.
I wonder much: Because since a lot of years also in the last articles wardmundy promote IPKall togethr with Google Voice. what is working? I do not wish a contract/per month rental. Just one time paid will be ok. Istruggle now 4 days to get a googlevoice running. What sense does it make if you pay at one line 10 or 20 $ for a number to get google voice runing what additional needs a gateway. IMHO i think if i compare additional the time i spend its a very expensive thing this google voice. As i see. It works only if a number allows to spy, what is good for google and the NSA.

Providers known to work with IPKall: (followed by the hostname to use in your IPKall settings)
Callcentric | in.callcentric.com
Sip Sorcery | sipsorcery.com
CallWithUs | did.callwithus.com
IPTel | sip.iptel.org
Antisip | sip.antisip.com
Sip2Sip | sip2sip.info
PBXes | pbxes.org
Tpad | sip.tpad.com
Ekiga | ekiga.net
VoIP.ms | <city>.voip.ms
Linphone | sip.linphone.org
Voiptalk | voiptalk.org
ippi | ippi.fr
PennyTel | incoming.pennytel.com
GetOnSip | getonsip.com
Future-Nine | incoming.future-nine.com
btcvoip | btcvoip.com
NetUno | ssc01.comvoz.com
VoipBuster | sip.voipbuster.com
VoipDiscount | sip.voipdiscount.com
Nonoh | sip.nonoh.net
Jumblo | sip.jumblo.com
VoipCheap | sip.voipcheap.com
Poivy | sip.poivy.com
VoipStunt | sip.voipstunt.com
Rynga | sip.rynga.com
VoipRaider | sip.voipraider.com
LowRateVoip | sip.lowratevoip.com
JustVoip | sip.justvoip.com
SmartVoip | sip.smartvoip.com
12Voip | sip.12voip.com
VoipZoom | sip.voipzoom.com
VoipWise | sip.voipwise.com
...


Providers known to NOT work with IPKall:
Brujula
Dcalling
DUS
FreePhoneLine.ca
Free World Dialup | service discontinued
Gizmo5 | service discontinued
Google Voice | uses XMPP, not SIP
IPComms | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
ovh | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
Sipgate | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
SipPhone | service discontinued
Skype | proprietary, not SIP
Spokn
Vbuzzer
VoiceTrading
VoIP VoIP
Voxalot | service discontinued
Whistle
...
 

drgeoff

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
4
1. I cannot comment on other networks in arztde's list of providers known not to work with IPKall but the reason shown against sipgate is incorrect. Sipgate.co.uk does not work with IPKall because the former blocks all incoming SIP calls except those from their co-operation partners telio.no and gradwell.com.

2. sipforever.com can be added to the list of those which do work with IPKall.
 

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
Something i did find out: Maybee localphone do block in general also in parts. I could phone with localphone my IPKALL number but i could not register it with localphone as a dial out number. I did write the stuff a email to contact me by phone on this topic. And they did and did verfy my thats may number and i can use now with this IPkall as dial out for Localphone. How many use this omnious google number realy? I never did look more close or deep inside the google system. But if i choose such a number i feel like this:

 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,246
Reaction score
2,670
Google at one time did block all IPkall numbers. That is not still the case. I think the reason is that connection rates to IPkall numbers are now quite reasonable and governed by new federal regs that put an end to the gouging. For example, we maintain a Tide Table service for our Pawleys Island Web Cam site. The number 843-284-6979 is an IPkall number, and we can connect to it from any of our Google Voice trunks.
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,455
Messages
138,070
Members
14,620
Latest member
Brads#Bell