GOOD NEWS GVsip: GVoice-to-SIP Gateway

Discussion in 'Today's Tech News & Events' started by wardmundy, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,309
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    GVsip matching Simon Telephonics intro price this week with coupon code: GVSIP1
     
  2. arztde

    arztde Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
  3. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,309
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    Create the two gMail accounts, log into each account, and sign up. You can configure the rest later.
     
  4. arztde

    arztde Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
    i did crate a google account and verified my ipkall adress. with the gogle account but i donot get any googlevoip number

    i try to get a googlenumberfor m ipkall number

    [​IMG]i want a new number seemsnot to work

    evertimeappearsthis:
    The forwarding phone on your account cannot be used to obtain a Google Voice number.

    what does this mean?
     
  5. VaHam

    VaHam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok I have both Vestalink Gateway (GVsip) and billsion's Gateway on different Goggle voice lines of coarse setup and working. As basic in/out trunks they both work fine using ulaw on each the quality sounds the same to me. Bill's gateway offers G729 & ulaw. GVsip adds G722 but I have not tried the G722 yet.

    I think there is some confusion, in my feeble mind anyway, regarding the GVsip ability to change "DID".

    When tycho said "GVSip allows you to change the GV DID associated with your account. Once logged-in with your credentials for your paid-for account, you can switch to a different GV DID and call-out reflecting that DID. I believe (but could be wrong) that Bill's Simonics gateway is associated with a single GV DID and login, and that another account would be required for a different GV DID/login."

    I think he simply means you can switch from one GV line (GV account) being associated with the gateway account to a different GV line. I wonder if Bill's Deauthorize/Re-authorize may not actually allow the same thing? (I HAVE NOT TRIED THAT YET); perhaps Bill can tell us if that is the case.

    **** Of coarse Bill's having CNAM sent is a huge added feature especially for folks who are not using a PBX and therefore don't have the ability to do lookups themselves. ***

    I also like Bill's multi-device registration feature!!! One of the handy things is that the devices can be located anywhere; so if you have a location where you would like an extension which rings simultaneously with a local incoming call and allows you to call between extensions using extension numbers this works like champ. I first setup a trunk using the multi-device instructions Bill provides of his website and got that working then I did remote login to one of my family members computers and set up a softphone using the sip credentials according again to Bill's instructions and voila! When a call to the gateway number comes in it rings both here and on the remote softphone where either can take the call. I can also call the remote extension using only it's extension number in my case 102 since the local one is 101 and visa versa. This would be great for things like vacation homes or even locations in different countries (I would suspect). All of this with zero footprint even between simple extension to extension calls.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  6. tycho

    tycho Guru (not...)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    214

    To clarify, what I was attempting to convey in what you quoted above relates only to the outbound CID reflected and seen by the called party. I should have said and call-out reflecting that >C<ID to be more clear.

    I find that capability handy. I have several GV accounts. I have one, main, account used extensively for both inbound and outbound calling. I have practically zero interest in calls to the other accounts actually reaching me directly -- they are set to go directly to VM within GV. But, if I do happen to get a VM on one of those numbers, it is handy to be able to return the call and -- when doing so -- show the CID of that DID. The capability I described using the GVSip gateway lets me do that.

    "That is all..." ;)
     
  7. VaHam

    VaHam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    10
    TIP: Using Bill Simon's GV Gateway and his multi-device setup you can also sip dial any of the extensions directly and have only that extension ring.

    GV1ZZZZZZZZZZx1@gvgw.simonics.com

    Where ZZZZZZZZZZ = your 10 digit GV DID

    The x1 would be the multi-device extension you setup as x1. Just replace the x1 with x2, x3 etc to call the other devices
     
  8. billsimon

    billsimon Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    263
    I forgot to change the price tag this morning. Last call for the $3.99 promotional price on Google Voice Gateway (https://simonics.com/gw/ ). Regular price of $5.99 after today.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  9. arztde

    arztde Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
    the service is still not clear to me. i just registered and did pay. do i need for every number a new account. I am new to google voice and for the moment i do not know what is it for this gateway. anyways did thought i try it, to have more ease to follow wardmundy guides.
    can i use more than one google number with it and can i use more than one US Phonenumber with it? or i do need for each a extra account? IPKALL service is down nd so i can not make me a google number to play with it.
     
  10. billsimon

    billsimon Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    263

    The service is very simple. Each Google Voice line is an account with GVGW. Yes, there's a setup fee per line.

    The service provided is a SIP connection that provides incoming and outgoing calling on your Google Voice number. You can register multiple SIP devices to have a sort of key system. All will ring on inbound calls; all can place calls outbound. You can call and transfer between the extensions.

    IPKall will not be useful to you with Google Voice. GV has prohibited IPKall numbers from being used with their service.
     
    tycho likes this.
  11. bonelifer

    bonelifer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    billsimon, great service. I can confirm it even works with the free grand-fathered, Google Apps for Your Domain accounts. Even at 5.99 it's well worth it.
     
  12. tycho

    tycho Guru (not...)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    214

    Somehow I missed this bit of news, not that it affects me because I do not forward GV to IPKall. I thought many people still did. Makes the gateways all the more important!
     
  13. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,309
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    For those using Incredible PBX for Asterisk-GUI, simply download and run our One-Click Installer. You’ll need your SIP Login Name and SIP Password from Simonics registration plus a two-digit dialing prefix to use for outbound calls. It’s that simple!
    Code:
    cd /root
    wget http://incrediblepbx.com/simonics-addon.tar.gz
    tar zxvf simonics-addon.tar.gz
    rm -f simonics-addon.tar.gz
    ./simonics-addon.sh
    To register multiple trunks, just change TRUNK entry in simonics-addon.sh from simonics to simonics2, etc.
     
  14. VaHam

    VaHam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    10
    TIP:
    Following up on the sip dial ability of each extension you have setup using simonics gateway multi-device that each of the devices can then have it's own unique DID in addition to the GV DID for incoming calls. Simply signup for a free ipkall DID and use the sip address as I outlined above as the sip destination for the ipkall DID. Repeat that procedure for each device you wish to have it's own individual incoming DID. That way anyone can place calls directly to each device individually, without ringing the other devices, by calling it's individual ipkall DID.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  15. voip_user

    voip_user Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    24
    Takes for the link ward. I signed up for this and so far so good. My wife and family has been using 40 dollars a month in flow route calls. She damn near has the phone glued to her ear all day, but doesn't like cell phones. we have a new baby and everyone around us is having babies hence the ladies are chatting all day. So far so good.
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  16. billsimon

    billsimon Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    263

    I should clarify this. I am not sure whether you can continue to use IPKall numbers that are already affiliated with Google Voice. I just know that you can't associate new IPkall numbers. My understanding of the original question here was that he wanted to set up a new GV account using IPKall as a forwarding number, and that won't work.
     
  17. arztde

    arztde Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
    I wonder much: Because since a lot of years also in the last articles wardmundy promote IPKall togethr with Google Voice. what is working? I do not wish a contract/per month rental. Just one time paid will be ok. Istruggle now 4 days to get a googlevoice running. What sense does it make if you pay at one line 10 or 20 $ for a number to get google voice runing what additional needs a gateway. IMHO i think if i compare additional the time i spend its a very expensive thing this google voice. As i see. It works only if a number allows to spy, what is good for google and the NSA.

    Providers known to work with IPKall: (followed by the hostname to use in your IPKall settings)
    Callcentric | in.callcentric.com
    Sip Sorcery | sipsorcery.com
    CallWithUs | did.callwithus.com
    IPTel | sip.iptel.org
    Antisip | sip.antisip.com
    Sip2Sip | sip2sip.info
    PBXes | pbxes.org
    Tpad | sip.tpad.com
    Ekiga | ekiga.net
    VoIP.ms | <city>.voip.ms
    Linphone | sip.linphone.org
    Voiptalk | voiptalk.org
    ippi | ippi.fr
    PennyTel | incoming.pennytel.com
    GetOnSip | getonsip.com
    Future-Nine | incoming.future-nine.com
    btcvoip | btcvoip.com
    NetUno | ssc01.comvoz.com
    VoipBuster | sip.voipbuster.com
    VoipDiscount | sip.voipdiscount.com
    Nonoh | sip.nonoh.net
    Jumblo | sip.jumblo.com
    VoipCheap | sip.voipcheap.com
    Poivy | sip.poivy.com
    VoipStunt | sip.voipstunt.com
    Rynga | sip.rynga.com
    VoipRaider | sip.voipraider.com
    LowRateVoip | sip.lowratevoip.com
    JustVoip | sip.justvoip.com
    SmartVoip | sip.smartvoip.com
    12Voip | sip.12voip.com
    VoipZoom | sip.voipzoom.com
    VoipWise | sip.voipwise.com
    ...


    Providers known to NOT work with IPKall:
    Brujula
    Dcalling
    DUS
    FreePhoneLine.ca
    Free World Dialup | service discontinued
    Gizmo5 | service discontinued
    Google Voice | uses XMPP, not SIP
    IPComms | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
    ovh | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
    Sipgate | does not allow anonymous SIP calls
    SipPhone | service discontinued
    Skype | proprietary, not SIP
    Spokn
    Vbuzzer
    VoiceTrading
    VoIP VoIP
    Voxalot | service discontinued
    Whistle
    ...
     
  18. drgeoff

    drgeoff New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    1. I cannot comment on other networks in arztde's list of providers known not to work with IPKall but the reason shown against sipgate is incorrect. Sipgate.co.uk does not work with IPKall because the former blocks all incoming SIP calls except those from their co-operation partners telio.no and gradwell.com.

    2. sipforever.com can be added to the list of those which do work with IPKall.
     
  19. arztde

    arztde Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
    Something i did find out: Maybee localphone do block in general also in parts. I could phone with localphone my IPKALL number but i could not register it with localphone as a dial out number. I did write the stuff a email to contact me by phone on this topic. And they did and did verfy my thats may number and i can use now with this IPkall as dial out for Localphone. How many use this omnious google number realy? I never did look more close or deep inside the google system. But if i choose such a number i feel like this:

     
  20. wardmundy

    wardmundy Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    14,309
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    Google at one time did block all IPkall numbers. That is not still the case. I think the reason is that connection rates to IPkall numbers are now quite reasonable and governed by new federal regs that put an end to the gouging. For example, we maintain a Tide Table service for our Pawleys Island Web Cam site. The number 843-284-6979 is an IPkall number, and we can connect to it from any of our Google Voice trunks.
     

Share This Page