ALERT Grandstream UCM6100 PBX

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,248
Reaction score
2,670
Too good to be true? Just got a hunch this may be different than the Aastra and SNOM attempts of yesteryear. We'll let you know shortly... (ETA: 7/23 + shipping time)




All units come with 2 FXS ports. 2-port FXO model (shown above), $264. 4-port FXO, $321. 8-port FXO, $564, 16-port, $1019.

See Tom Keating's article today for his take on whether this is a good idea...

 
  • Like
Reactions: jmcman

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
428
Location
South Florida
Wow - that looks awesome ... even to use it as an FXO / FXS gateway. Are you doing a review of one?
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,248
Reaction score
2,670
Should be here next week. No echo cancellation according to "reliable sources."
 
  • Like
Reactions: jmcman

jmcman

Guru
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
112
Reaction score
13
Location
Earth
Very nice, I look forward to seeing how it does in testing. Subscribed!
 

kenn10

A lesser geek
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,013
Reaction score
208
Seems pretty nice. Based on prompts and such, I'd say its running Asterisk but not FreePBX. It seems to be a custom front-end GUI to Asterisk.

The videos say that it is based on Asterisk.
 

jmcman

Guru
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
112
Reaction score
13
Location
Earth
I read through the manual and I have to say it actually does look pretty decent. I'd love to try one of these... Let us know how it goes, Ward.
 

ou812

Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
465
Reaction score
70
Grandstream has a technical webinar setup for Thursday, there is a link on there web site for anyone interested.
 

jmcman

Guru
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
112
Reaction score
13
Location
Earth
Ahh, it said I was still logged in, but I actually was not! I logged out and logged back in, then the price re-appeared. Wonky site, for sure.
 

phoneguy

Guru
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
54
Its running Asterisk 1.8.9.3- Ouch that is old. Pretty sure their were some security exploits that have been fixed since then.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,248
Reaction score
2,670
We're up and running. Very snappy performance. Setup is easy to outbound providers or other Asterisk servers. Think: Branch office PBX, but...

Looks like inbound registrations from other Asterisk servers are blocked, or I've missed something. I opened a ticket. Debugging is next to impossible. You can allow anonymous connections to get incoming calls working without PSTN trunks.

IVR is primitive. You can upload voice prompts but they have to be GSM. No DISA. Amazing similarities in the UI to FreePBX 2.9 era. :devil:



Extremely crippled in what you can do as the IVR option list makes clear. Even though there are USB and SD card interfaces on the device, you can't use them for anything other than a config backup. Not sure why you would build a device with up to 16 FXO ports that can't do anything but route calls to extensions and conference rooms. :willy nilly:

Funny Peculiar: Called into Grandstream PBX from our remote office server and call connected fine with softphone registered on extension 5000 (see below) as long as Allow Anonymous was enabled. Then tried to park the call (## 70) using softphone 5000. It parked the call in the parking lot of the remote server. :oops: Only works with: ## then #72.

 
  • Like
Reactions: jmcman

jmcman

Guru
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
112
Reaction score
13
Location
Earth
Thanks for the update, Ward. Looking forward to seeing more and more about it. I picked one up with company money and it's supposed to be here Monday. I'll give my thoughts then as well...
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,248
Reaction score
2,670
Thanks for the update, Ward. Looking forward to seeing more and more about it. I picked one up with company money and it's supposed to be here Monday. I'll give my thoughts then as well...

If you can get a SIP or IAX port registered from another server, please share the details. :drool5:
 
  • Like
Reactions: jmcman

jmcman

Guru
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
112
Reaction score
13
Location
Earth
Well, I doubt I'd be able to do much if you couldn't do it! I will try though... :batman:
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,248
Reaction score
2,670
Thought I would start a WHAT'S MISSING LIST and I will add posts of others below as they are identified...
  1. No text-to-speech functionality
  2. No speech-to-text functionality
  3. No DISA
  4. No ability to load custom dialplan code
  5. No AGI/PHP script support
  6. No traditional fax support except using dedicated fax machine on FXS port
  7. No SIP/IAX trunk registrations from remote Asterisk server
  8. No incoming calls except via anonymous SIP or PSTN (nixes interoffice setups for extensions)
  9. No access to Asterisk CLI for debugging or otherwise
  10. Limited SSH access (show basic config info, set/get variable, upgrade, reboot, reformat partition)
  11. No VPN support
  12. No SIP security with Internet exposure (see next page)
  13. No Fail2Ban support
  14. No WhiteList security to lock down your server
  15. No Google Voice support for free calling in U.S. and Canada
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,457
Messages
138,074
Members
14,621
Latest member
Mac-Gayver