FYI GoogleTTS Returns from the Dead.. Again

jerrm

Guru
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
838
Reaction score
405
I installed the patch but can anybody tell me how to use it? Sorry I'm a newbie. I tried to update TTS Module and got this error.

Module Administration
Errors with selection:
  • Text To Speech cannot be installed:
    • Module ttsengines is required.
    Please try again after the dependencies have been installed.
No actions to perform
Thanks in advance.
Jose Casares




PIAF 3.0.6.7
FreePBX Ver: 2.11.0.43
Running Asterisk Version: 11.22.0
Operating Sys: CentOS 6.7
ttsengines is a Sangoma commercial module and therefore not part of IPBX.
 

Nubleet

New Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Any update on this? I am getting
Code:
 googletts-cli.pl -o /tmp/tts/test.wav -t "Things and stuff that needs to be said"
Failed to fetch speech data. at /usr/local/sbin/googletts-cli.pl line 126.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,201
Reaction score
5,221
This seems to be an endless battle so we are moving the News and Weather apps to FLITE. Here's the patch for those that need it.

Code:
# patch to replace GoogleTTS with FLITE since GoogleTTS is dead meat
sed -i '\:// BEGIN nv-news-yahoo:,\:// END nv-news-yahoo:d' /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf
echo ';# // BEGIN nv-news-yahoo
exten => 951,1,Answer
exten => 951,n,Wait(1)
exten => 951,n,Set(TIMEOUT(digit)=7)
exten => 951,n,Set(TIMEOUT(response)=10)
exten => 951,n,Flite("Please hold a moment while we retrieve the latest Yahoo news headlines.")
exten => 951,n,AGI(nv-news-yahoo.php,10)
exten => 951,n,Flite("${NEWS}")
exten => 951,n,Hangup
;# // END nv-news-yahoo
' > /tmp/news.txt
sed -i '/\[from-internal-custom\]/r /tmp/news.txt' /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf
rm -f /tmp/news.txt
sed -i '\:// BEGIN nv-weather-google:,\:// END nv-weather-google:d' /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf
echo ';# // BEGIN nv-weather-google
exten => 949,1,Answer
exten => 949,n,Wait(1)
exten => 949,n,Set(TIMEOUT(digit)=7)
exten => 949,n,Set(TIMEOUT(response)=10)
exten => 949,n(retryw),Flite("After the beep say the city and state or province of the weather report you wish to retrieve. Then press pound.")
exten => 949,n,agi(speech-recog.agi,en-US)
exten => 949,n,Noop(= Script returned: ${status} , ${id} , ${confidence} , ${utterance} =)
exten => 949,n,GotoIf($["${confidence}" > "0.4"]?proceedw:retryw)
exten => 949,n(proceedw),Flite("Please hold a moment while we retrieve your report for ${utterance}.")
exten => 949,n,AGI(nv-weather-google.php,${utterance})
exten => 949,n,NoOp(Forecast: ${WEATHER})
exten => 949,n,Flite("${WEATHER}")
exten => 949,n,Hangup
;# // END nv-weather-google
' > /tmp/weather.txt
sed -i '/\[from-internal-custom\]/r /tmp/weather.txt' /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf
rm -f /tmp/weather.txt
asterisk -rx "dialplan reload"
 

Trimline2

Guru
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
524
Reaction score
96
Well, I'm keeping my head down on this one - I just installed a new system that went production on 9/1 and I'm not experiencing any issues with Google TTS. Both News and History (patched) work just fine; I've always run Weather with Flite.
 

chris_c_

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
509
Reaction score
67
The googletts-cli.pl is working fine here now. Here's the resulting .wav file to listen to.
http://www.espacenetworks.com/media/audio/test.wav

Instead of hard switching over to FLITE, why not first try googletts-cli.pl, if it fails, then try picotts, if that fails, then try FLITE.

Because at one time or another, each of them can all fail. Yet it's unlikely for all 3 to fail at the same time.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
19,201
Reaction score
5,221
Here is the latest set of patches for GoogleTTS from Lefteris Zafiris:
Code:
cd /tmp
git clone https://github.com/zaf/asterisk-googletts.git
cd asterisk-googletts
mv goo* /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin/
chown asterisk:asterisk /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin/*.agi
cd cli
mv googletts-cli.* /usr/local/sbin/.
chmod +x /usr/local/sbin/googletts*
cd /tmp
rm -rf asterisk-googletts
 

Chakravarty

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Hi there - On my PIAF Green I don't have the propolys-tts.agi file. Can I simply install it by adding the propolys-tts.agi file (from https://git.freepbx.org/projects/FREEPBX/repos/tts/browse/agi-bin/propolys-tts.agi) to the directory: /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin/
chown asterisk:asterisk /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin/*.agi

But don't I need something in my /usr/bin directory?
I am trying to follow the instructions to add a Polly TTS as shown here - https://community.freepbx.org/t/tts-engine-custom-amazon-polly-24-languages/40763

Many thanks for any guidance!
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
25,812
Messages
167,760
Members
19,240
Latest member
nikko
Get 3CX - Absolutely Free!

Link up your team and customers Phone System Live Chat Video Conferencing

Hosted or Self-managed. Up to 10 users free forever. No credit card. Try risk free.

3CX
A 3CX Account with that email already exists. You will be redirected to the Customer Portal to sign in or reset your password if you've forgotten it.
Top