1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RECOMMENDATIONS Garbled Inbound Voice on VVX 410

Discussion in 'Endpoints' started by rossiv, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    I bought a VVX 410 new to take with me abroad this summer and while I was over there, all inbound voice was garbled. It wasn't terrible to the point of not being able to hear, but voices are noticeably distorted. "Garbled" is the closest word I can use to describe what's happening.

    I've been back stateside for a while but just now got back to plugging this phone in. It's doing the same thing here, except only for calls inbound from trunks. (Granted, I didn't have a second extension before to test internal...) MoH, internal calls, and anything except calls from outside sound perfect. It doesn't matter which trunk it comes in on - VoIPms, Anveo, or an Obi110 - the voice always has the same garbling. Outbound voice (that is, my voice to the caller) is not affected in the slightest. Other extensions aren't affected - their voice is perfect inbound and outbound as it should be.

    I've tried factory resetting, checking the codecs, and I'm out of ideas. Anyone have a thought?
    I use G722 on this one for internal, but ulaw for everything else. Looking at the calls, it's negotiating ulaw as it should, so it shouldn't be a transcoding problem. I'm really stumped.

    Code:
                                                  Incredible PBX 11.15.0 for Ubuntu 14
    
                                                Asterisk: UP      Apache: UP    MySQL: UP
                                                SendMail: UP    IPtables: UP      SSH: UP
                                                LAN eth0: UP    Fail2Ban: UP   Webmin: UP
    
                                                RAM:   "Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS"  Disk:  77G
    
                                                Asterisk 11.17.1        FreePBX 2.11.0.34
    
                                                Private IP: 10.0.50.2
    
                                                 Public IP:
    
                                                System Time: Wed Nov 11 00:27:24 EST 2015
    
    
    
                                                                <  OK  >
    
    
    
     
  2. MGD4me

    MGD4me
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    47
  3. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    @MGD4me Yep, tried disabling everything but 711 u. Still inbound garbled voice. It's still puzzling me how it's only for calls going outside the PBX though. Everything internal is fine. That's what makes me think it's a codec transcoding problem, but everything I've seen in my log hunting says I'm running ulaw. I haven't tried forcing the codec in the Asterisk-side of the extension config yet. I'd rather not have to do that, though
     
  4. gpuser

    gpuser
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    12
    Did you try directly registering to the provider, not through a PBX? What sort of CPU you have on your PBX?
    Looks unusual :)
     
  5. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    Nope, as I have no reason to. Could I do it for testing? Sure.
    Edit: Just tested with a subaccount to VoIPms and it works fine without audio issues. So the issue definitely seems to be within Asterisk. Apparently that's more useful than I thought. Thanks for that!
    It's virtualized on ESXi - Xeon something or other.
     
    #5 rossiv, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  6. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    So I tried using an extension that's forced on the Asterisk side to ulaw only and the same issue occurs. The plot thickens...

    More testing. I don't think it's the firewall (pfSense) that I'm behind. Testing with Bria on my GS6 over Verizon 4G and G722 is clear as day. Ulaw works too.

    Edit:
    4G -> VVX: Choppy
    4G -> Zoiper (Desktop, on PBX LAN): Perfect
    WiFi (Non-PBX LAN) -> VVX: Perfect
    WiFi (Non-PBX LAN) -> Zoiper (Desktop, PBX LAN): Perfect
    Cell -> VVX: Choppy
    Cell -> Zoiper: Perfect
     
    #6 rossiv, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  7. gpuser

    gpuser
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try giving the VM a bit more resource in terms of CPU and RAM and turn fail2ban off for testing. As far as I've observed Polycoms are picky when it comes to server resources compared to Cisco, Yealink, Snom etc. Those calls that sound good on a Cisco may sound strange on Polycoms if the server is living on the edge resource-wise.
     
  8. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    I'll give it a shot. Can't hurt. Box isn't hurting for resources.
    Edit: No go. Doubled RAM to 4GB and added a CPU core.

    Nothing's getting banned. If something was getting banned, I wouldn't be able to place a call at all. That, and it'd affect more than just the VVX.
     
    #8 rossiv, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  9. gpuser

    gpuser
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    12
    I suggested it to save some CPU, RAM and disc IO :)
     
  10. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    139
    For giggles, I just spun up a brand new Incredible 13 server and the same issue is there, even on PJSIP. I'm calling it a night - still stumped.
     
  11. b0b z33

    b0b z33
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    I having a similar issue using vxx 411 phones and a USB headset
    The handset audio works just fine but the receive audio in the headset has static

    Suggestions?
     

Share This Page