RECOMMENDATIONS Firewall and security settings

ncg

Reaction score
Partly because of old versions of PIAF I've been a very occasional CentOS user and I've never used Debian before.

I've installed PIAF5 / 3CX on a Debian VPS recommended by 3CX at OVH. It's local and cheap. (Sorry Ward!)

The installation works and passes the built in 3CX firewall test - but I'm guessing that is checking the necessary ports are open and not checking the machine is secure. Is that correct?

How do I ensure the server is secure? What do I need to do to lock it down? By default does the Debian installation provision in a safe way, or does it have no firewall turned on at all?

PIAF has always been hot on VOIP security so I'd welcome advice from the community and/or Nick at 3CX. Is there a resource for this I have missed?

ncg

Reaction score
If anyone else has the same question this might help. I posted on the 3cx forum when I got no reply here. A 3CX staff member replied:

The pbx is secured by default with it's anti hacking module. If you want to implement a more strict security you can edit the rules of IPTables that is already installed by default on OVH Debian. You can allow access only to trusted by you ip addresses.

I asked for more, and he replied more substantively:

The best resource for you to find out how the anti hacking module works you need to read the 3CX Advanced Training: 4. Security & Anti-Fraud. You can find the link below:
In order to use auto-update for the new patches for Debian you can read the below link about Unattended Upgrades: