SOLVED Error 6636

mattseymour

Member
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
8
I popped into the office late last night and noticed the phones were unregistered. Checking the logs today there's a sea of ERROR [6636] netsock2.c

The server lost registration with the phones and all providers with errors, warnings and notices all 6366.this continued for about four hours before asterisk restarted as part of the backup script.

Any ideas what might cause this?
 
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
223
Reaction score
28
Location
Troy, Ohio
Yes I would guess your connection went down and Asterisk lost connection with your providers. This caused the error until Asterisk was restarted.
 

mattseymour

Member
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
8
I suppose that's possible but asterisk seems to have lost connection with all external providers and all internal phones and been unable to reconnect despite trying for four hours. If it was a wan failure that wouldn't affect internal phones. We didn't suffer a power outage... Plus if it were a physical problem it shouldn't have taken an Asterisk restart to make things come good.
 
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
223
Reaction score
28
Location
Troy, Ohio
It will, when Asterisk loses internet or more specifically DNS services it croaks. I think this maybe fixed in the latest releases of Asterisk but I'm not sure. Depending on what you are running, this is most likely the reason why.
 

atsak

Guru
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
1,854
Reaction score
197
I suppose that's possible but asterisk seems to have lost connection with all external providers and all internal phones and been unable to reconnect despite trying for four hours. If it was a wan failure that wouldn't affect internal phones. We didn't suffer a power outage... Plus if it were a physical problem it shouldn't have taken an Asterisk restart to make things come good.

Yes it would; it's a well known bug in Asterisk that all phones go offline if your internet does under certain circumstances. There are some workarounds for it, search the forums hopefully they've survived the great crash of 2013 somewhere.
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,424
Reaction score
2,737
Use IP addresses instead of FQDNs for ALL providers and the problem will go away permanently.
 

mattseymour

Member
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
8
I did a forum search, but the error I was seeing didn't turn up. Hopefully this thread will be useful to others.
 

billsimon

Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
1,016
Reaction score
337
The number 6636 in those syslog lines isn't a defined error number, but rather the ID of the thread on your system experiencing the errors. That's why you weren't able to find anything pertinent when searching for 6636.
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,577
Messages
138,962
Members
14,675
Latest member
profjake