DEAL DIY PIAF2 Server ~$200

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,231
Reaction score
2,666


Note: Dual Core model is available for $30 more. Not really necessary, but many will want it.

Wireless Suport: Doesn't work out of the box. Here's the link to FoxConn if you really, really like water torture.






Click on the images for the NewEgg links. Any matching RAM and SATA III SSD will do. So you can probably beat these prices with a little surfing.

Installation: Remove 4 case screws and gently pry off the cover. Remove the carrier for the drive (4 more screws) and insert SSD then insert and replace screws. Insert RAM. Snap into place. Snap on cover. Replace screws. 2 minutes!!

This includes a free 4GB thumb drive which we figure is worth $3 and any shipping charges. :smile5:

Only trick is, using new PIAF2 flash drive installer with ISO2USB, the settings should be SDC and SDA instead of SDB and SDA when you build the PIAF2 Flash installer. Works great!


[email protected]:~ $ dmesg | grep logical
sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] 117231408 512-byte logical blocks: (60.0 GB/55.8 GiB)
sd 3:0:0:0: [sdc] 1978368 512-byte logical blocks: (1.01 GB/966 MiB)





 

gregc

Guru
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Messages
433
Reaction score
3
Wow. Didn't take long to get that up and running!

They really are great little boxes and no reason not to buy two and clone em so you have a quick and easy backup solution. I played with this yesterday. Booted up the backup (both are static IP'd with the same address) and unplugged the Cat5 from the primary and moved it to the secondary. All worked peachy.

-Greg
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,231
Reaction score
2,666
How About This Dual-Core Baby for $93.50

With the (better hurry) sale price, that brings the total system price to under $200... just $185!!!



 

gregc

Guru
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Messages
433
Reaction score
3
Ohh... with PCI Express interface. Nice!
 

atsak

Guru
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
1,821
Reaction score
186
Ohh... with PCI Express interface. Nice!
Don't assume the PCI-e interface is accessible on the case (ie don't assume you can actually mount a card) unless you can see it from another angle :)
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,231
Reaction score
2,666
We'll know soon enough. Tom has ordered one.
 

drmurdoch

Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
554
Reaction score
4
Location
West of Toronto, Canada
Foxconn R30-A1

Foxconn R30-A1 [link]

Series AMD Embedded CPU
Dimension RS224(Dimension:280*282*95mm = 7.5L) (w/o Cardreader)
Motherboard AHD1S-K
Processors Supported EME350GBB22GTD;Support Zacate Dual Core APU, Max processor power up to 18w
Chipset Hudson D1
Memory 2*240-PIN DDR3 DIMM socket Support up to 8GB of system memory Dual channel DDR3 1066 memory architecture
VGA Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6310 Graphics, support DX11 compliant
Storage Interface Hudson D1 Chipset: -2*SATA 2.0 connectors 300MB/s data transfer rate -Support hot plug and NCQ(Native Command Queuing)
Expansion Slots 1*PCI Express*16 slot(only support PCIE*4 card)
Audio Realtek ALC662 audio chip: -High Definition Audio,-2/4/5.1-channel,-Support for S/PDIF Out,-Support jack-Sensing function
LAN Realtek RTL8111E Gigabit LAN chip(co-lay Realtek RTL8105E 10/100MB/s LAN chip)
Driver Bays 1*5.25”external
1*3.5”external(short)
1*3.5”internal
Front Panel 2*usb 2.0
1*Mic, 1*Headphone
Back Panel 1*PS/2 keyboard port
1*VGA port
1*HDMI port
1*DVI-D port
6*USB 2.0 ports
1*RJ-45 LAN port
6-channel Audio ports
Power Supply DSL150P

CPU, Chipset, and Graphic Features
Supports AMD the Zacate APU processors based on the AMD® Hudson D1 chipset with an advanced DirectX 11 graphics engine with AMD UVD 3.0 technology.
Supports AMD the Zacate APU processors with UMI technology.

Memory Features
Supports 2x 240-pin DIMM of DDRIII SDRAM.
Supports 8GB memory size.
Supports Single Channel DDRIII 1066MHz memory architecture.

1*PCI Express*16 slot(only support PCIE*4 ard)

Motherboard AHD1S-K

Tom's hardware on the AHD1S-K
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/e-350-motherboard-brazos,2958-5.html
 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
:D

Mostly to test out a pcie card I got from openvox..... oh boy.

Since it is an AMD it should run prox with no problems also just dump on 8gb and away you go.... quite the deal....I just happen to have a rather huge 2.5" ssd laying around to drop into it and had the memory in a drawer that just happened to fit so GREAT DEAL.

Actually with free shipping (usually you get screwed on this) with the secret savings code under a $100 dollar bill cant beat it. Also I think I have the same case in the lab so I bet a pcie card will fit just fine. Like the openvox 400e or similar form factor.

Tom
 

drmurdoch

Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
554
Reaction score
4
Location
West of Toronto, Canada
Think it would take a Sangoma A200 ?
http://sangoma.com/assets/docs/datasheets/en/a200.pdf

Updated March 01, 2012 22:52

It does mention PCIe in the intro (but not in the specs as you say).

To reach this configuration, simply add additional Remora™
cards to any base card in the A200 Series. A single PCI or
PCI Express slot hosts the connection and ensures common
synchronous clocking for all channels
This probably has more info.

http://sangoma.com/products/hardware_products/analog_telephony/a200/specs.html

Fully PCI 2.2 and PCI Express compliant, compatible with all commercially available motherboards, proper sharing of PCI interrupts
 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
that spec sheet is for PCI not PCIE unless I am reading it wrong.

Would like to say yes but we have NO Sangoma cards in our library for some reason.......

the sangomas look pretty thick compared to an openvox. BTW the new openvox cards with hardware echo cancellation are second to none along with their new V100 transcoding card which "just works" out of the box.

Tom
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,231
Reaction score
2,666
Send one along and I'm sure Tom would be glad to "test it" for a few years. :wink5:
 

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
15,231
Reaction score
2,666
The above units are now back in stock. Coupon code no longer works but still a great deal. Add a SATA III SSD and up to 8GB of notebook RAM for an awesome Proxmox virtualization machine behind a secure firewall.

 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
Damn I sent money to someone in canada few days ago and it cost 1.07 to buy 1 canukbuck
 

airwolf3000

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Ward, I will be very much interested in about 5 to 8 pieces, my problem it's, I am overseas, Colombia, shipping it's not a problem, I have an agent in Orlando, Fl. he will be glad to get me the stuff.

I can not bring it, into the Country, all in separate pieces, has to assemble as a single package and I also need a bigger hard drive 300 GB or about that range.

Also I will have to pay via bank transfer, big no-no to do it now with a credit card

you can contact me at cortiz1bog at gmail dot com or cortiz1bog on skype, but having a busy schedule lately, only late evening, real late

thanks, airwolf3000
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,578
Reaction score
427
Location
South Florida
Ward, I will be very much interested in about 5 to 8 pieces, my problem it's, I am overseas, Colombia, shipping it's not a problem, I have an agent in Orlando, Fl. he will be glad to get me the stuff.
Huh?? Ward are you selling these??
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,446
Messages
137,997
Members
14,613
Latest member
roshan2019