FYI Core i7 Computer For Sale possibly part out

Alex Hackney

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
151
Reaction score
17
No one I know uses desktops anymore and I'm switching to a laptop for my main system but thought I'd throw this out here, if anyone is interested. If it's not allowed, please delete, no hard feelings lol.

Its been my main machine for 2 years. Going to switch to a desktop replacement laptop. I looked up pricing on ebay for what stuff is going for, so I feel like this is more than fair.

Paid $1819.58 New (Including Windows 10 Pro)
Asking $800 + shipping to CONUS

Corsair Carbide Series 330R Titanium Edition Quiet Mid-Tower Case CC-9011071-WW
Paid - $89.99
Asking - $40

Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.3GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W Desktop Processor BX80648I75820K
Paid - $424.94
Asking - $300

Samsung 950 PRO -Series 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD 2-Inch MZ-V5P512BW
Paid - $326.25
Asking - $100

EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SSC Gaming ACX 2.0+ Cooling Graphics Card (04G-P4-3975-KR)
Paid - $399.99
Asking - $129

ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1 ATX DDR4 3300 (o.c.) Intel LGA 2011 Motherboards
Paid - $259.99
Asking - $180

Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120mm PWM Fan (RR-212E-20PK-R2)
Paid - $29.44
Asking - $15

Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz (PC4-24000) C15 Memory Kit - Black (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
Paid - $129.99
Asking - $100

LG WH16NS40 Super Multi Blue Internal SATA 16x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter
Paid - $58.99
Asking - $50 (Has never burned anything lol)

Corsair CM500 500watt PSU
Paid $59.99
Asking - $30

Posted in a few places.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,610
Reaction score
438
Location
South Florida
I might recommend holding off on that decision for a while if you can afford to. I bought wonderful laptops for the family and over time ... we've realized that there IS a place for desktops. Hell - my office now has a wonderful desktop with 4 nice large monitors for output that allow me to work more efficiently. Now I just use my laptop for when I'm on the move or when I visit client's offices.
 

Alex Hackney

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
151
Reaction score
17
I get it believe me. I just move around a lot and work on the road a lot so I figure I will go all in on the laptop and then when I'm home use my 27in monitor and keyboard. The laptop I'm looking at is an alienware 6 core with 32gb of ram and pcie nvme drives. I think it'll be a bit slower but probably close to what this one will do. I use 3 computers now and would like to have everything in one together. I'm sure I'll miss my desktop but I can always build another.
 

krzykat

Guru
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,610
Reaction score
438
Location
South Florida
I use 3 computers now and would like to have everything in one together.
I understand ... another thought for you as far as "having everything in one place" - is check out Synology. Kind of a hybrid file server / NAS ... and very flexible. I use it to keep my office files synced on my desktop so even if I am in the field with no internet and let's say I need our docs on how to program the ERx with our setups ... I pull up the doc and go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wardmundy

tbrummell

Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
669
Reaction score
82
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Home I use a desktop, but that's mostly a file server/Plex machine. HP z420, dual Xeon's, 32 gig, 240G SSD, 8TB spinning. Performance is decent.

Work I just got a workstation replacement laptop. HP zBook 15 Gen5 with an i7 8850, 32 gigs ram 500 Gig SSD, Thunderbolt docking station. I'm not impressed with how the docking station connects/works, but it gets the job done. 2 24" monitors, plus the laptop display gives plenty of real estate when in the office, plus I can pickup for when I have to hit the field. Everything connects to the dock via USB C, strange, I know. It is a beast of a machine, performance is awesome. I've been quite impressed with it. Maybe my expectations are a little low, I haven't had a brand new machine in 5 years, the z420 was an off lease prchase. LoL
 

Alex Hackney

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
151
Reaction score
17
Thats a nice setup.
I was going to do an alienware i7 8750h it comes base with 8gb of ddr4 and an nvme 256. I was going to go to 32gb and upgrade the ssd to a 1tb and it has slots for 2 more m.2s was going to do 1tb in each of those hopefully raided. The laptop is a 1080p. I dont like a bigger res on a smaller screen. Thats why I have this monitor in front of me.
I have an asus pb27q or something like that that I love. Want to keep it. and the aw has a 1060gtx built in. I do mostly video editing and php web dev on vms. So I think itll suffice, wont be a dual xeon but for me, probably ok. I may hate it, who knows lol. :)
 

Alex Hackney

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
151
Reaction score
17
Sorry to hijack .. did you buy WD Reds or maybe something like this and toss the case and use the drive ... I've heard they essentially have Reds inside of them for less money.
No im using the seagate ironwolf and some of the barracudas. Because its raided I'm not really worried about drive failure. Plus I do occasional backups to the glacier service at amazon for important stuff. The reds are nice but I dont think they are 7200rpm and for me, transfer speed is more important than getting 10yrs out of a drive. I seem to bump them up every 2-3 years anyways.
 

tbrummell

Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
669
Reaction score
82
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Yeah, the zBook has a open drive bay as well, we can ask for a spinning disk if the 500G proves to be too small. Considering our software builds are 10-16 gigs each, you can eat up some space fast if you plan to archive many builds, which I do for travel purposes. Pulling 10 Gigs off the file server remotely is kind of a time killer!
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,525
Messages
138,585
Members
14,650
Latest member
hemazoher