Busy forwarding and Ringall ring groups

geopeterwc

Guru
Reaction score
While I'm a noob as far as putting PIAF to work, I've been following Asterisk since the Asterisk@Home days. Thanks to Ward and the rest of the PIAF gang for putting together an easy-to-install package! I've unsuccessfully scoured the forums for insight into solving a configuration problem I'm experiencing.

My system consists of the PIAF box (of course), serviced by two PSTN (AT&T) lines, and two Vitelity VOIP lines with local numbers. The PIAF is equipped with two Digium TDM410 cards, (four FXO on one card, and four FXS on the other).

My house phone is a two-line cordless Panasonic with multiple two-line handsets, connected to a PAP2-NA, providing two extensions (201 and 202) to the cordless phones. Additionally, I have a couple of VOIP phones, softphone on my notebook computer, and analog phones connected to the TDM410 FXS ports in the PIAF. These phones are installed in the garage, my workroom, etc.

I've set a ring group (600) "ringall" to ring the extensions on incoming calls from all DIDs. This seems work, however the two-line Panasonic phone gets confused by simultaneous ringing on both of the lines, making it difficult to answer incoming calls.

I'd like the second extension (202, line 2) to ring on incoming calls only if extension (201, line 1) is in use. I'm successful setting up a separate ring group (601) that does this, containing the two extensions and using the "firstnotonphone" to ring the second line when the first extension is in use.

I'v thought that a 'virtual extension number' that always forwards to the 601 ring group could be added to the ringall (600) group, but I am unable to find an 'always forward' option in the extension setup.

How can I incorporate this special ring group, or the functions it defines, into my "ringall" group and not confuse the two-line phones?