TIPS Backing up / restoring / moving PIAF to new machine

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
A few months ago, I was asking about how to clone a PIAF installation from one computer to another.

Now I'm realizing that I don't need to necessarily clone my HD. I just want to move my entire PIAF installation from one computer to another, with slightly different hardware.

What would be the best way to do this? I tried cloning the drive (using Clonezilla and Acronis), and I also tried physically moving the old HD to the new computer. Neither of these worked. I got "Kernel panic" errors when starting up on the new computer.

I don't want to have to reconfigure anything if I don't have to, since I ended up making a lot of small changes here and there that I don't want to lose.

So what is the ideal way to move? Some sort of backup/restore?

It would be awesome if somehow I could move the entire installation -- extensions, recordings, settings, and all -- without too much difficulty.

Thanks!
 

arainero

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for, but I think using rsync might work. It will sync your new box to reflect the same changes that your old box had. Just rsync the PBX folders.

(I am not a Linux expert. I do not know if PIAF is built to any specific hardware configuration when installed, if it is, then rsync will probably not work)
 

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Thanks for the suggestion! I actually thought of something along the lines of rsync, but I also wasn't sure if that would do it, or if something more advanced needs to be done.
 

arainero

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Also, if I'm not mistaken, doesn't the FreePBX interface let you backup all of your configuration files including recordings and such? You could just make a backup and then restore that backup on your new machine. That would be your safest bet.
 

mvoip

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
A few months ago, I was asking about how to clone a PIAF installation from one computer to another.

Now I'm realizing that I don't need to necessarily clone my HD. I just want to move my entire PIAF installation from one computer to another, with slightly different hardware.

What would be the best way to do this? I tried cloning the drive (using Clonezilla and Acronis), and I also tried physically moving the old HD to the new computer. Neither of these worked. I got "Kernel panic" errors when starting up on the new computer.

I don't want to have to reconfigure anything if I don't have to, since I ended up making a lot of small changes here and there that I don't want to lose.

So what is the ideal way to move? Some sort of backup/restore?

It would be awesome if somehow I could move the entire installation -- extensions, recordings, settings, and all -- without too much difficulty.

Thanks!
I used to build my PIAF server in vmware, configure it and then use acronis (in vmware) to make an image. The image would then be restored on a physical machine. I did not have any problem with centos 5 but with centos 6, the asterisk would crash in physical machine. To solve this, I recompile asterisk in physical machine and everything works fine.
Before making acronis image from vmware, make sure you delete the following file:

/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

otherwise restored image in physical machine would not find ethernet. this file will be recreated during boot-time in the physical machine.
 

Fala

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
I running PIAF1.7.5.6 (FreePBX Version 2.9.0.9) on an bootable 8 GB USB Stick, using an HP Thin Client (T5720) and I would like to make a backup of my entire install on the USB Thumb Drive. What are my best backup options so that if the Drive becomes corrupted in anyway, I can quickly restore the drive? I have a Pogoplug Pro and can also buy another 8 Gig Drive if required.

Also, if I did a clean install of one of the newer PIAF, can I backup the configuration files only and be able to apply them to the new install without have to go back and create the Inbound/Outbound call routes, Trunks, Extensions, etc.? Thx
 

rossiv

Guru
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,626
Reaction score
138
Location
Atlanta, GA
What he meant is a new backup solution for the already released PIAF2 if my memory of forum threads serves me correctly.
 

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Ah-hah. I gotcha.

Well, I think I did this successfully. Here's what I did:

Installed a fresh copy of PIAF (same version, 1.7.5.7) on my new machine, and I followed the guide at http://nerdvittles.com/?p=682 for Incredible Backup and Restore.

All seemed to work well, except some of my hand-edited configuration files, like fail2ban settings, iptables, and aliases, were not copied over. Fortunately I had access to the old files, so I just copied and pasted the info.

From what I can tell, though, everything is functioning! :) That wasn't too painful!
 

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Oh no! I think I may have spoken too quickly.

When I tried to do my first orange-bar reload, I got an alert that there was an error.

When I go to the status, it shows:

retrieve_conf failed, config not applied

Reload failed because retrieve_conf encountered an error: 255
Added 9 seconds ago
(freepbx.RCONFFAIL)
Argh! :-(
 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
That is usually from a permission error. Now as to where that is....... who knows. Try running update-fixes and see if it corrects it beyond that....


Tom
 

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Thanks for the suggestion.

I tried that, and then retried applying the configuration changes, but got the same error.

Anything else you could think of for me to check?

Thanks!
 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
Nope all that code is archived now as PIAF 175X is in emergency security fix only mode.

Tom
 

imekul

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Makes sense!

Any advice you would have on what to do? I still have the old machine in fine working order, so I can create another backup, or I can upgrade it, or... anything. Perhaps upgrade to PIAF 2 and redo the backup/restore?
 

darmock

PIAF Developer
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
98
Location
Florida
There is no real way of doing that plus Centos 6.2 might not run on older hardware.

Some have tried to use the freepbx backup facility and then restored to a similar version on a 2061 box with mixed results.

We dont support upgrades from 175x to 206x. Too much else to support these days. Unless you are running a couple hundred extensions and say 50 to 75 trunks it is just as easy to scrub and reinstall.


Good luck.


Tom
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,364
Messages
137,343
Members
14,574
Latest member
ipv6freely