FOOD FOR THOUGHT ACN Iris 3000 Videophone

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
Hi all.
Long time, no see, heh.
Finally after 6 month i was able to get some time to spend on this project again.
First of all - here is a new LiveCD:
[http://www.4shared.com/file/cwE9JvVpba/iris-unlock.html]
This one is capable of fixing [NO SDA1] and moreover, there is a live NFS-based working root-fs inside.
just execute:
[ln -s /dev/shm/code-run/ /var/umec/code/]
[exportfs -r]
And use [1+#] - you phone will boot in to a normal v20 firmware right from NFS.
Feedback and questions are wellcome.

J
In germany its 3 oclock now and i do not have a problem :) in case of soccer world champianship we have a final match germany usa we should do it in front not to have sportive fan fights... :)

anyways the phones i have still here untouched and waiting ou have time. The upload is not finished yet. to 4shared.com
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
In germany its 3 oclock now and i do not have a problem :) in case of soccer world champianship we have a final match germany usa we should do it in front not to have sportive fan fights... :)

anyways the phones i have still here untouched and waiting ou have time. The upload is not finished yet. to 4shared.com
HI there!
Lets chat in PM and arrange remote session.

J
 

Sandy_PIAF

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hi there...

Will this phone work also on other sip softwares like 3CX?

Thanks...
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
Hi all.
I discovered some interesting thing to share.
One of my IRIS3000 got broken.
It was the [SDA1] version - rootfs is on 128MB embedded USB flashdrive.
After spending some time i found that the flash IC is dead - it loose all the date written on it after reset/power cycle.
But luckly, i had a SD-CARD of 128MB in size. I made a [dd] direct clone to it and put it in to the phone.
I edited REDBOOT script line from [... root=/dev/sda1 ...] to [...root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 ...].
But no luck, the phone was still dead.
After some brainstorming i decide to look for serial console, which i knew was there.
I was able to find it out, see the photo attached.
After some additional investigation i found out that everything was OK - it was just the typical race condition.
Kernel was initializing SD/MMC interface slower then attempting to mount it as root.
One more parameter to REDBOOT script and it worked like a charm:
[exec -w 2 -b 0x100000 -l 0x200000 -c "noinitrd console=ttymxc0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rootfstype=ext3 rootdelay=10 init=linuxrc ip=none fec_mac=00:04:9f:00:82:4c video=mxcfb:TV-NTSC"]

Black - GND
Yellow - RX (From IRIS to PC)
Red - TX (From PC to IRIS)


J
 

arztde

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
284
Reaction score
25
Location
Germany
Hi all.
I discovered some interesting thing to share.
One of my IRIS3000 got broken.
It was the [SDA1] version - rootfs is on 128MB embedded USB flashdrive.

J
Hi Joshua nice to see you are still allive.
I got yours last info some months ago and in the meanwhile i bought 2 Iris phones 3000 to follow yours project.
I have the European Version and be surprised it exists a version with a flash drive. But i did not open because no time :) the 2 phones i have.
Maybee after open them i see they have one integrate. Unless i did open for a first review only the version Iris 5000.

You post daytime in Germany (its 4 pm here) . Is it working time for you now or free time. Just to know the time differenceif we work together once with teamviewer for example.

Regards

Wilfried
 

Jarrek

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Toronto
I got 5 of these IRIS 3000 phones. Hacked (with some help from Joshoa) all of them so that I can connect them to any provider.

They have their quirks (random reboots, fuzzy reception, etc). But considering I picked up all phones for around $80, it was a good deal.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hi all!

I'm another world inhabitant that is spending some time trying to revive two old and abandoned ACN Iris 3000! Actually I'm living in Italy and this is my first post on this forum!

So, at first, I've to say a big "Thank you" to Joshoa for all the informations shared here!

There be something I'm missing... I've read almost everything I've found in this eight pages, both versions of PDF manual written by Iris3000, and a lot of various documentation.
I've learned how to correctly dump my Iris Jffs2 MTD partition to a file and to mount it inside a Linux machine (I'm still not able to modify it and create the new image file...).
I've tried every procedure found here with success, working with "LiveCd", entering RedBoot, changing kernel (tried both, the Umec and the Unbranded), and update both phones via SD or Live CD NFS.
And I've also learned a lot playing with scripts inside "SLTP" files.

But... I still have a problem with gaining access to my phones over telnet or Ssh.
If I connect my phones to my regular LAN, providing them a working internet connection, and I update them with the standard "1+#" procedure from the official server, I'm able to access them via telnet or Ssh, but the software version doesn't have the Web Configuration Tool.
If I update them using the latest SD from Joshoa or the latest LiveCd Image, I'm not able to regain access trough telnet or Ssh and the phone "Administration" menu is not even working.

Any suggestion?!

Thanks in advance!

P.S. It seems that this forum is the only source of useful information about the ACN Iris 3000 in the whole web! ;)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hi all!
If there is someone still interested in those Iris 3000: here an update!

I was encountering problems with ssh connections even with the Acn original firmware (phone updated installing 0.2.54 from Acn server), but, with the original one I was at least able to connect via telnet.

Trying with the "-vv" ssh option and doing a research over internet about results displayed, I've found a similar problem encountered with some old router...
So, I've not really understood why, but all my problems are correlated with use of "ssh" directly from a textual linux console (I was trying from the live-cd command prompt and from another linux pc).
The only solution that I've found as "working" is to connect to Iris3000 ssh port 7022 with "putty". Success!

I've finally reached the goal of entering the Web Configuration Tool of the v20 firmware!

Now... I'm still studying every kind of documentation about creating a new "rootfs" from scratch for this harware, with the idea of installing a os like debian and playing with the MX27...
Unfortunately, it seems that most of the procedures described online are obsolete or files are missing.
If someone has already done some experiment and is willing to give some tip... please feel welcome! ;)

Best wishes!

Andrea.
 

Jay Deal

Phhhhhhhhttttttt :)
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
267
Reaction score
85
My reading of the posts in this thread said to me even if you able to unlock it, that the 3000 isn't too reliable even with upgraded firmware. So it might not be worth expending a great deal of effort. Just my two cents.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Maybe you are right... always depends from personal point of view.
In 2010/2011 I was in Australia and I used my two Iris 3000 to call home daily (in Italy) for six month, without encountering any issue, avoiding to talk about issues with ACN provider... the only reason why I've not used any more my phones.

Ok, it's not the best you can get in the market but... having these two phones lying abandoned in my cellar without any use... I don't know...

Playing a little with this kind of hardware is also a way to learn a lot, even if they are now not so reliable or not fully compatible with current Voip service providers.
I can admit that, before starting my "investigation", I had no idea of what "RedBoot" was!
And now, only few days after, I've learned how to deal with Jfss2 and a lot of other "linux stuff"...

From this point of view: learning new things, I think that spending a little of my free time over these old phones is not totally a waste of time! ;)
 

Gavsta AU

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Australia
Does anyone have a full step by step guide how to do this, so much information here, it has confused the heck out of me... Can i send my IRIS 3000 to some one smarter than me to get it (hacked) for me???
 

Carlos Neves

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Does anyone have a full step by step guide how to do this, so much information here, it has confused the heck out of me... Can i send my IRIS 3000 to some one smarter than me to get it (hacked) for me???
Hi there... its very simple... First go to this link (http://www.techidiots.net/notes/iris-3000), just download livecd.iso, and burn it. Second, start your computer with the cd you prepare previously. Third, connect your phone to your computer (ethernet/wan), power your equipment while pressing 1 plus cardinal... just wait... you will see a logo with restoring information in your phone screen, and after an red bar rolling... then it reboots itself. First fase done... You Hacked your phone... Then, just say something... i can provide more instructions!
 

The_Dackler

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I connected to the live cd via Ethernet. I then rebooted the system with '1+0+*+#'. The phone communicated with the "server/live cd". Now I have some new settings!! Unfortunately, I don't know where to go from here. Should I try to ssh into the system now to edit the config file?

Sip server: proxy.server
Phone number:
Ip: 192.168.1.10
Subnet mask:
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS: 8.15.12.5
Mac: xxxxxx
Version: 20.9.37
 

KKlouzal

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Thank you all so much for this forum thread! I picked up an ACN IRIS-3000 from a thrift shop and was able to make the darn thing boot up and get into shell as root.

At this point I'm not sure what to do, I'm trying to get this phone working with Asterisk and Google Voice.

What files can I edit now that I've gained root shell access? I noticed the DNS servers are hard coded and the LAN port on the phone makes some private stub network. Can the DNS servers be changed and the LAN/WAN port turned into a pass-through?
 

Bart

Active Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
433
Reaction score
25
Location
Buena Park, CA
I guess no one has figured out how to repurpose these phones yet? Not a quality phone but cheap
 

Pierre F.

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Thank you all so much for this forum thread! I picked up an ACN IRIS-3000 from a thrift shop and was able to make the darn thing boot up and get into shell as root.

At this point I'm not sure what to do, I'm trying to get this phone working with Asterisk and Google Voice.

What files can I edit now that I've gained root shell access? I noticed the DNS servers are hard coded and the LAN port on the phone makes some private stub network. Can the DNS servers be changed and the LAN/WAN port turned into a pass-through?
Hi KKlouzal,
Did you ever figure out that last part?

I flashed it with the LiveCD, can SSH into the phone and got into the web interface of the Iris 3000. There, I changed:
- the DNS servers to my router and OpenNIC as secondary.
- the VoIP config as described in https://www.techidiots.net/notes/iris-3000/downloads/Iris300s notes.txt/view

However, upon restarting it, the phone is not registering. Checking in asterisk CLI in debug mode, I see no communication whatsoever being made on the server.

Did I miss something?

Thanks in advance.
 

Pierre F.

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
For those who might have the same problem, the step that I had missing was to go edit the /tmp/tmp_config.conf file after ssh'ing into the phone to change the manually set dns values.
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,260
Messages
136,393
Members
14,499
Latest member
BenMcClements