FOOD FOR THOUGHT ACN Iris 3000 Videophone

shade_emry

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
acn

If you can ssh into the phone,port 22 using the wan port, username root,
password acnum3c,

All you have to do is rip out all of acn's footprints in the root system in the config files out using the built in VIM editor on the phone. Since this phone uses drop bear, or Linux. Then just point them to the asterisk server.. the 1.8.x asterisk server will auto provision the phones both for outgoing and incoming, however MAKE SURE the video codec on the web admin page in the configuration settings are set, otherwise the phone will lock up.

the files you need to modify are in the /tmp folder in root

/tmp/tmp_config.conf

Unlike most ip phones, this phone requires a server to generate an encrypted provisioning file and then that file to be sent to it, hence all the ports that are open but not accessible. this allows the phone to call out, and turn on the register light. The asterisk pbx in a flash package is the best FREE piece of software i have found in my research that works with this phone. combine it with the google voice add-on, "and NO YOU DON'T NEED A GIZMO5 ACCOUNT" you then have an ata adapter and a phone in one that can call out and in from sip to sip, sip to pstn or pstn to sip (pstn=pacific stranded telephone network, aka regular phone line)

if you cannot ssh into it, update the phone by doing this:

+Turn off the phone for 30 seconds
++plug in a network cable that's connected to a modem or some form of internet
+++hold down the # 0 1 Keys, and turn the phone back on
++++WAIT FOR THE RED LOADING BAR AT THE TOP
+++++Release the keys and walk away from the device
++++++DO NOT INTERRUPT THE DOWNLOAD, the phone will reboot itself after it downloads the update from acn and installs it

I have my asterisk server running on a virtual box using a network bridge setup in VMware, stock settings, and i enabled all the video and audio codec's. this stopped all the lockups i was encountering.

I will post instructions on how to enable this phone and unlock it..I WILL NOT PROVIDE tech support, obvious answers.

IF you do not know how to use linux or a VIM editor, then please familiarize yourself before asking me directly,Google is your friend, trust me.
thats all i ask.
 

iulius

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi!
by downgrading the version of the Iris3000 to 0.20.9.37 version, so as suggested by Joshoa in the another post, I could use, such as video phone, with the advantage that also has a Web-GUI Interface of program on the LAN IP.
Only thing that has some bugs ....

(For Joshoa,
between time, I found another bug .... if attacked another phone as a derivation, when it comes from extension phone and it is activated by one call, you can see the intern videocam, on the screen of Iris3000, which was not the case with the other firmware 0.2.57.3.1-US) .

To update the firmware version (using # 0 1 Keys ) .... I think there are some problems, always talked in previous posts.
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
Hi!
by downgrading the version of the Iris3000 to 0.20.9.37 version, so as suggested by Joshoa in the another post, I could use, such as video phone, with the advantage that also has a Web-GUI Interface of program on the LAN IP.
Only thing that has some bugs ....

(For Joshoa,
between time, I found another bug .... if attacked another phone as a derivation, when it comes from extension phone and it is activated by one call, you can see the intern videocam, on the screen of Iris3000, which was not the case with the other firmware 0.2.57.3.1-US) .

To update the firmware version (using # 0 1 Keys ) .... I think there are some problems, always talked in previous posts.
Sure. Kinda interesting backdoor you were found.
As for now i don`t know what kind of firmware lays on ACN EMERGENCY server, and i actualy dont want to know. Cause everybody can gain access to this server it is no use to fixing it all the time.
In the mean time i almost done with second generation of UPGRADE/UNLOCK SD card wich is able to work with both HWs.
J
 

iulius

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi! I kindly ask to Joshoa, if he has any news / updates to the firmware for IRIS3000.
Thanks in advance.
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
fw

Hi! I kindly ask to Joshoa, if he has any news / updates to the firmware for IRIS3000.
Thanks in advance.
Hi!
As i mentioned previously, i am almost done new fw upgrade sd card.
Several more tests and i will post it over here.
J
 

iulius

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi! The experiments is at the end, for the new firmware?
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
new sd card upgrade

Hi all.
Here is my new v20 upgrade card.
http://www.mediafire.com/?buaa7xgz5mhdzlk
Currently it works with both HWs.
Additionaly, if you have HW1 (no MTD4, but /dev/sda1) after upgrading process your phone will try to connect to my test server. When REGISTER led lights up, just press MAIL button. This will run ECHOTEST (you will see and hear youself)
If you dont want to do so, or afraid that i will do something bad with your IP - just do not connect it to internet during upgrade process, then right after restart, go to MENU/SETTINGS/SYSTEM SETTINGS/FACTORY RESET. Password 7517517. This will clean up everything.
Second feature is 2 scripts that i put right in the root directory.
/web-on.sh and web-off.sh
If you run first - it will give you an access to webadmin on port 8080 with ANYPASSWORD.
Secon one will lock it back.
Exept of those addons this is the same v20 firmware with same bugs. I am still unable to find more stable version v20 to build on.
Any feedbacks are kindly wellcome.
J
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
news

Found several glitches.
Not possible to upgrade if version is 0.2.55
Damaged web-on&web-off files.
Will fix it on next version.
J
 

iulius

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Found several glitches.
Not possible to upgrade if version is 0.2.55
Damaged web-on&web-off files.
Will fix it on next version.
J
Hi!
It seemed strange ... but now I have confirmation from you ... To me it does not work the scripts On-Off ...
 

Joshoa

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
new v20

Thanx for my friend Vladimir, i have a sample of ACN v20 now. Thus next version of CD CARD will be shipped with it. Hopefully i`ll finally get rid of "half-pip" issue and other annoying stuff.
If nothing will bother me, next version will be ready today at night by GMT-8
Joshoa
 

iulius

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Thanx for my friend Vladimir, i have a sample of ACN v20 now. Thus next version of CD CARD will be shipped with it. Hopefully i`ll finally get rid of "half-pip" issue and other annoying stuff.
If nothing will bother me, next version will be ready today at night by GMT-8
Joshoa
Many thanks !!!
 

Jarrek

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Toronto
Sorry to revive such an old thread.

I picked up a bunch of these phones for around $10 each. At that price, the unlocked phone is a very affordable SIP phone option. The HW1 phones using MTD I was able to flash without any issues whatsoever. However, all of the HW2 phones using SDA1 I have been unable to flash using the SD card method.

Once the flashing process is done, the phone reboots, and stays on the ACN screen forever. Only the 1*# trick revives the HW2 phone.

Does anyone have any further insight on why I am unable to flash the HW2 phones? I used the latest "Joshoa" image that's in the previous post.
 

mbellot

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
323
Reaction score
78
It's been six months (or more) since I did mine, so things are a bit hazy...

Have you tried using the livecd method? It was the only way I could get the two phones I bought to re-flash.

EDIT: I scrolled back through and it looks like we lost a lot from this thread in the great crash...

LiveCD can be found here.

I don't remember all the steps, but in a nutshell...

1. Boot LiveCD (VirtualBox worked for me)
2. Connect phone and PC running LiveCD to an isolated hub/switch or use a crossover cable between them (absolutely NO internet access for the phone)
3. Power on phone with the keys needed to enter recovery mode (1 + # I think)
4. Phone should contact your LiveCD PC and download firmware because it thinks it's the ACN server.

Good luck!
 

Jarrek

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Toronto
It's been six months (or more) since I did mine, so things are a bit hazy...

Have you tried using the livecd method? It was the only way I could get the two phones I bought to re-flash.
No, I haven't tried that yet. Just been trying the SD card method on the HW2 phones. I assume by LiveCD method, you mean the download at this location: http://www.techidiots.net/notes/iris-3000/downloads/livecd.iso/view

Are there any instructions or how-to's on the LiveCD process?

I have all the HW1 phones unlocked. I actually believe that the HW1 phones are newer models, because they start off with a serial number of 81XXXXX instead of the HW2's which start off with 80XXXXX (at least in the case of the 5 phones that I have)

http://www.techidiots.net/notes/iris-3000/downloads/livecd.iso/view
 

mbellot

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
323
Reaction score
78
Yes, that is the correct LiveCD.

The only instructions I'm aware of (thanks to the crash) are the ones I posted.

I dug through everything I have and found this comment posted by Joshoa

Try my new live-cd. It`ll restore your phone from almost every condition. Even if you completely erase rootfs, it`ll be not over for him. Just dont touch kernel partition and you ok.
This way of unlock is the best one that was ever available.

Boot from live-cd, connect WAN port to yours computer network card, power-on your phone while holding 1+#. Wait. Thats all.
 

mbellot

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
323
Reaction score
78
FWIW...

I also found this info Joshoa posted when I was having problems getting things going remotely. My final solution had nothing to do with the phones, it was a setup blunder on the PIAF install...

Hi
Yeah, that the known behavior of this phone.
Speaking of config:
1) User Settings tab:
1.1 User display name (thats the CALLERID field that the phone will send out during INVITE)
2) Phone Setup:
2.1 There is pretty much nothing really essential here. Only some UI-related settings.
3) VOIP Setup:
3.1 User SIP URI - [sip:[email protected]]
3.2 User SIP auth name - [USERNAME] (that field is for tha cases, when you have enabled AUTHUSER in asrterisk. usually AUTHUSER=USERNAME)
3.3 User SIP p-a-s-s-w-o-r-d - [p-a-s-s-w-o-r-d]
3.4 Enable server auth [OFF]
3.5 Enable Presens Publish server [ON] (thats for BLF, hints and presence)
3.6 SIP presence server publish URI [sip:[email protected]]
3.7 Enable call forward to SIP URI [OFF] (dont think that anyone need it)
3.8 SIP Message waiting server subscribe [ON]
3.9 SIP server message waiting URI [sip:[email protected]] (Thats for VOICEMAIL/MWI)
3.10 SIP VM Username [USERNAME]
3.11 SIP VM p-a-s-s-w-o-r-d [p-a-s-s-w-o-r-d]
3.12 VM SIP Server URI [sip:[email protected]] (Thats for VOICEMAIL itself)
3.13 Number of SIP routes [0] (thats for the case when you have more then one * server for media traffic)
3.14 SIP Proxy transport [UDP] (But TCP works also. And there is an option for TLS an the next page, but i am unaware is it works or no)
3.15 Enable SIP session timer [OFF]
3.16 Sip Privacy [OFF]
3.17 Minimal SIP header [OFF] (this might work in some cases, but wont work in general so OFF is the best choice)
3.18 Include direction s/r in SDP [ON]
3.19 Enable SSRC validation [OFF]
3.20 SIP port number [5060] (but you can set 5065 or any other. this is soley for inbound. this is the port on which the PHONE will listen)
3.21 SIP register expires time [60] (by default, this field is 3600, but if your phone is behind the firewall/nat the best way will be to put 60. this will act as a keepalive mechanism, preventing the nat from destroying UDP/TCP tunnel mapping)
4) WiFi setu - this section just does not work at all. Looks like there were some plans to equip this phones with USB-WiFi adapters, but i did not find any traces of implementation thisin to our recent firmware.
5) Network Setup:
5.1 Define RTP port numbers [OFF] (better to let the phone manage this, but in some esoteric firewall configurations you might have to manually configure this to match the firewall/port forward riles)
5.2 DHCP enable [ON] (depends on your net configuration)
5.3 Network device name [eth0.2] (REALLY IMPORTANT. the phone itself has only one real ETH adapter. 2 ports on the back is actually tiny 3 port VLAN-capable switch. eth0.2 means VLAN2, which is BLUE WAN port)
5.4 Obtain DNS automatically [ON]
5.5 STUN/TURN [OFF] (dont used em at all, so dnot know are all this stuff alive or not)
6) Address Book - feel free to use it
7) System Config:
7.1 Enable WiFi [OFF]
7.2 Transport [UDP] (i`d gladly wait for feedback from anyone who will take the opportunity to test the TLS)
7.3 UDP/TCP treshold [1300]
7.4 Match conn by hostname [OFF]
7.5 Auto Answer [OFF] (if ON - the phone will answer the call for itself)
7.6 Auto Answer Timeout [5]
7.7 Enable Video privacy [OFF] (if ON - tturns off your camera)
7.8 Enable AEC [ON] (auto e-c-h-o cancellation)
7.9-11 AEC related - default is good enough
7.12 Enable gain control [ON] (auto mic sensitivity)
7.13 PIP local video position [ANY] (this option just does not work at all. video is always in the left-bottom posittion)
7.14 Video bit rate [512000] (by default hee is 384000, but i decided that i want a better video ;) )
7.15 Frame rate [20] (same assumption)
7.16 Transmitted image video size [VGA] (same stuff, i want this phone to work as a HD-like streaming box)
7.17 Video mute image [video_muted_vga.bin] (this file is absent in the phone, only QVGA template is there. it looks to me that this is pre-encoded H264 video with only one frame for video-pause splash screen)
7.18 {all vvideo codec related parameters} [default values] (just leave it all as it is)
7.19 Number of codecs [2] or [3] (i prefer to use only H264/ulaw or H264/alwa,ilbc)
7.20 Codec 1 [ULAW] (sound codec MUST be on the first place)
7.21 Codec 2 [H264] (here comes the video.H263 will work too, but 264 is WAY better)
8) MQM config - have no idea of what is this

Thats all, guys!
 

Jarrek

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Toronto
So just an update. Tried the crossover, LiveCD method with VirtualBox yesterday, and it flashed the HW1 based phone.

Just a couple of notes:
  1. The stock settings for VirtualBox did not want to work for me, so I had to put the VirtualBox network adapter into Bridged Mode with a Paravirtualized network.
  2. I had to unplug the phone for at least 30 seconds, before plugging it back in and using the 1*# method to force it to download the unlocked firmware from the LiveCD / Virtualbox
Thanks for all your help!
 

Members online

PIAF 5 - Powered by 3CX

Forum statistics

Threads
22,514
Messages
138,530
Members
14,644
Latest member
goseph