1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GOOD NEWS 3CX Lands on Linux with V15 SP2

Discussion in 'Today's Tech News & Events' started by hecatae, Oct 14, 2016.

  1. hecatae

    hecatae
    Expand Collapse
    resident hecatae

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    148
  2. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    #2 wardmundy, Oct 14, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
    hecatae likes this.
  3. hecatae

    hecatae
    Expand Collapse
    resident hecatae

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    148
    @wardmundy currently testing the free edition, unlimited extensions and 8 simultaneous calls
     
  4. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    Pretty sweet, isn't it. Today we'll be testing we've implemented the Simonics GV gateway for free calling. It won't support 8 simultaneous calls, but it will handle 2 or maybe 3 if you're lucky. :cowboy:
     
    #4 wardmundy, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
  5. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    Setting Up a Simonics SIP to GV Gateway Trunk with 3CX

    [​IMG]


    Simonics SIP-to-GV gateway is a non-free SIP gateway to handle Google Voice free calling in the U.S. and Canada for U.S. residents only using GV OAuth 2 authentication. The one-time cost is $4.99 using the Nerd Vittles discount link. Setting up your Simonics SIP trunk on their site takes about a minute.

    3CX Trunk Settings

    Nothing difficult here either. Create a Generic SIP trunk. For your Simonics credentials, be sure to use the 11-digit GV number in your Authentication ID (with GV prefix!) and your Simonics password. Use your 10-digit GV number for Main Trunk Number:

    [​IMG]

    Outbound Route Settings

    The trick here is you want to support both 11-digit dialing (1NXXNXXXXXX) and 10-digit dialing (NXXNXXXXXX) so we need to set up two outbound routes. For the 11-digit route (OutGV11), just specify that the route should handle 11-digit calls and send them to your Generic SIP Trunk. For the 10-digit route (OutGV10), set it up to handle 10-digit calls, prepend a 1 to the dialed number, and then send them to your Generic SIP Trunk. If you plan to support international calling with Google Voice (not free), you can add additional outbound routes specifying allowable dialing prefixes to meet your own requirements.

    [​IMG]

    Inbound Route Settings

    This is straight-forward as well. Create a new GVin inbound route making sure to specify the 10-digit GV number as the DID and telling the route where to send the calls. In our example, we sent the calls to the default 000 extension.

    [​IMG]
     
    #5 wardmundy, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
    peterbata likes this.
  6. MGD4me

    MGD4me
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    47
    Just loaded 3CX on a minimal Cloud@Cost Debian 8 platform, and I'm surprised at just how zippy the menus load. The installation was pretty painless, as was the application for a free license.

    This is probably too soon to say, but with the free version supporting 15 devices and 8 simultaneous calls, it might turn out to be a reasonable alternative for a home or small business. I'm anxious to find out if their 3CX softphone will be able to populate the BLF buttons to monitor the presence of other extensions, and calls on hold. Back to the sandbox...
     
    hecatae and wardmundy like this.
  7. hecatae

    hecatae
    Expand Collapse
    resident hecatae

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    148
    anyone know if erp.3cx.com is on a static ip address?
     
    #7 hecatae, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2016
  8. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    @MGD4me: Downright scary how well CloudAtCost works... with CNAM no less. WOW!
     
  9. MGD4me

    MGD4me
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    47
    For a quick comparison of which features are available with the free versus paid versions, see this link.
     
  10. hecatae

    hecatae
    Expand Collapse
    resident hecatae

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    148
    10gb ssd, 512mb ram, 1cpu?
     
  11. jerrm

    jerrm
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    95
    Is the feature matrix is correct - no parking, no intercom, no reporting on the free version?

    Is there at least a way to experiment with the non-free features?
     
  12. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    Just call one of the hundreds of resellers. I'm sure they'd be happy to demo any feature you'd like to review. Or take a look at the documentation.
     
  13. MGD4me

    MGD4me
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yup, that's the one. It's their most basic server offering.

    Once I had the Debian 8 (64 bit) server installed, it only took minutes to PUTTY in, and install the 3CX PBX software. That part was pretty brain-dead. Going through their GUI will take a bit of reading, but so far is very intuitive. My only observation so far, is that this is a U.K. system, so some of the details may be different if you are more familiar with North American terminology.

    @jermm ... I haven't fully explored all of the feature set, but I believe your observation is probably correct. I'm still learning, myself.
     
  14. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    [​IMG]

    @MGD4me: Took your advice and set up 3CX Debian Free Edition at CloudAtCost ($10.50 with Coupon Code: TAKE70) in about 10 minutes, added a new Google Voice trunk using Simonics SIP gateway ($4.99). And for a total expenditure of $15.49, we've now got a totally free PBX in the Cloud with totally free calls in the U.S. and Canada forever*! Not sure how any SOHO business owner in the U.S. could not find that compelling with a commercial PBX organization standing behind the product.

    * YMMV :cool:
     
    #14 wardmundy, Oct 17, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2016
    hecatae and MGD4me like this.
  15. hecatae

    hecatae
    Expand Collapse
    resident hecatae

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    148
    installed, currently working out which ports need to be open, the free lets encrypt ssl certificate and fqdn is a nice touch
     
    wardmundy likes this.
  16. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    Code:
    3CX needs these ports to work.
    5060 TCP UDP  - SIP
    5061 TCP - S SIP
    5090 TCP UDP - 3CX Tunnel Protocol
    5015 - TCP (temp configuration)
    22 TCP - SSH
    80 443 / 5000 5001 (HTTP/HTTPS Port Pairs) (These are the most commonly used)
    9000-9500 UDP - Audio ports 
     
    shuler likes this.
  17. ou812

    ou812
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    65
    I setup a Debain server on Google Compute and install the free Linux version of 3CX and it has parking & reports.

    Gary.
     
  18. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
  19. tycho

    tycho
    Expand Collapse
    Guru (not...)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    169
    (I was just forced to "ignore" user (?) 3CX due to the dozens of posts that appeared between last night and right now. Rather spammy...)

    I do use and rather like an older version of the 3CX windows desktop client
     
  20. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595
    Likes Received:
    1,870
    The 3CX RSS Feed was added which, of course, meant that all of their existing content got gobbled up by XenForo at once with no way to turn it off. It happened as we added each of the other RSS Feeds as well, but it's a one-time problem.
     

Share This Page