Wow this is fun? - Help

Ptaylor

Reaction score
O.K. after doing my reading I decided and take the plunge and install PBX in a flash. I burnt my image and after choosing the appropriate driver (my CD is USB) I installed.

CentOS 5.2 appears to be installed correctly (I can log in as root) but nothing else. Somehow the script to load PBX in a flash is either not working or is broken.

Ideas/Solutions welcomed - small words and steps please I am a complete Linux newbie.

Thanks to all

jmullinix

Guru
Reaction score
Did you have the network cable plugged in. PIAF requires an Internet connection to install.

Ptaylor

Reaction score
Yes was plugged in and Internet is up

Thanks for the suggestion

drmurdoch

Reaction score
CentOS 5.2 appears to be installed correctly (I can log in as root) but nothing else. Somehow the script to load PBX in a flash is either not working or is broken.

Reboot the machine.

Install another script other than PIAF and see if your CentOS is having problems just installing any script.

dobbs

Reaction score
When you say "internet is up" do you mean that as in your networks other computers have access or that eth0 started and received an IP address?

Some NICs are not supported by CentOS, at least not without finding and installing a driver.

jroper

Guru
Reaction score
Hi

The steps PiaF goes through to install are as follows.

1. Install Centos
  2. Reboot
  3. Get IP from DHCP
  4. Download Payload from Piaf servers
  5. Prompt for installation type.
  6. Install Asterisk, FreePBX, and some other stuff.
  7. Reboot
  8. Job done - over to you to configure.
It sounds like it is failing at 3 and/or 4

For the payload to be downloaded and then installed, it needs to:

1. Have access to the internet
2. Do domain name resolution.

Can you confirm that 1 and 2 above are in place. As long as they are, everything should work.

Joe

thunderheart

Reaction score
Do an 'ls ~' as root.