SugarCRM Install FAQ

jroper

Guru
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
3,832
Reaction score
71
Hi

I;ve just installed sugar CRM for a customer, and I thought I'd share the process.

At the command prompt, run the following commands: -

# go to the web directory
cd /var/www/html

#Get the Sugar package
wget http://www.sugarforge.org/frs/download.php/3563/SugarOS-4.5.1h.zip

#Unzip the sugar package
unzip SugarOS-4.5.1h.zip

# Clean up the zip file
rm SugarOS-4.5.1h.zip

#Change the directory to crm so that the kennonsoft interface recognises its presence
mv SugarOS-Full-4.5.1h crm

#Set ownership - remember we are running apache under asterisk ownership
chown -R asterisk:asterisk crm

# Install php-imap, an optional sugar dependency
yum -y install php-imap

# Change the memory limit to32M so we can upload decent sized files in Sugar
sed -i '/memory_limit/s/16M/32M/g' /etc/php.ini
sed -i '/upload_max_filesize/s/2M/10M/g' /etc/php.ini

#Restart apache to pickup the php.ini changes above
httpd -k restart

Then open your web browser, and point it at the front page - you should have a new SugarCRM icon

Click on it and follow your nose - you will need one more piece of vital information - the mysql root password, which by default is "passw0rd"


To add asterisk integration click here:-

http://www.sugarforge.org/top/toplist.php?type=downloads

and put "asterisk" as the search term. VoiceRD is popular and free for basic use, they should have install instructions.

Joe

ps - I can recommend this book http://www.packtpub.com/sugarcrm/book
 

jehowe

Guru
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
288
Reaction score
4
These instructions work for Sugar's new version 5 CE release (change the link and file name).

I just installed and haven't had a chance to see what's new, and what asterisk integrations are available with this release.
 

tracker925

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
I tried to install 5.0 and failed. Wouldnt take any password I could throw at it. Seems to be a problem with other on the sugar forum. Has anyone tried to upgrade from 4.5.1 to 5.0.0? How did you go about doing it? I have been at this install most of the day so I dont dare risk the upgrade right now.

Thanks.
 

tracker925

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
So, I perservered. The 4.5 to 5.0 upgrade would not work, nor would the asterisk module upload without the following (which is from the sugarcrm forum):
So I believe I figured this out. There are two, not one like I though, settings in php.ini which include uploads and posts. What the upgrade is doing is posting the file and running it so you need two settings set correctly in your apache php.ini:

(NOT 8MB)
post_max_size = 64M

upload_max_filesize = 50M

Then you need to restart apache. It worked for me, hopefully it'll work for you too.

I added this to the sugar wiki about recommended php settings located here:
http://www.sugarcrm.com/wiki/index....P_Configuration

If you haven't looked at it you may want to go through and set the options to recommended settings.
 

tracker925

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Oh, as of this date the asterisk plugin does not work under 5.0! So I moved back to 4.5.1
 

foneman

Guru
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
1
I know these are old....

But I too had problems trying to upgrade to 5.0 from module and from a fresh install.
Went back to 4.5 and am running again....
Just my $.02
 

jpe

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
149
Reaction score
0
Update script for Fresh install SugarCE-5.2.0c

Code:
# go to the web directory
cd /var/www/html

#Get the Sugar package
wget http://www.sugarforge.org/content/downloads/helper.php?dl=/frs/download.php/5252/SugarCE-5.2.0c.zip

#Unzip the sugar package
unzip SugarCE-5.2.0c.zip

# Clean up the zip file
rm SugarCE-5.2.0c.zip

#Change the directory to crm so that the kennonsoft interface recognises its presence
mv SugarCE-Full-5.2.0c crm

#Set ownership - remember we are running apache under asterisk ownership
chown -R asterisk:asterisk crm

# Install php-imap, an optional sugar dependency
yum -y install php-imap

# Change the memory limit to32M so we can upload decent sized files in Sugar
sed -i '/memory_limit/s/16M/32M/g' /etc/php.ini
sed -i '/upload_max_filesize/s/2M/10M/g' /etc/php.ini

#Restart apache to pickup the php.ini changes above
httpd -k restart
 

raphou

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
2
Hi!

When I try to install sugarCRM and give the mysql user and password (root and passw0rd)...it says:

Code:
The provided database username and/or password is invalid, and a connection to the database could not be established. Please enter a valid user name and password. 1130: Host '192.168.1.16' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server).

I've never changed the mysql password.

What can I do ? Thanks
 

jroper

Guru
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
3,832
Reaction score
71
Hi

Are you installing on the same machine as your PBX.

If so, can you check that you can ping "localhost"

If you can ping localhost, then ensure localhost is used as the database location not 192.168.1.16.

Joe
 

raphou

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
2
Hi Joe..

Indeed I'm trying to install it remotelly. I have currently no access to the machine. Is there any alternative method?

Thanks a lot!
 

gaijin

Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
170
Reaction score
0
What Joe is trying to say is are you intending to run Sugar on the same physical machine as your PIAF server...

Or put another way... when you run the sugar setup webpage, where it says IP address of MySQL Server:
Instead of putting your server's IP address, put 127.0.0.1 or "localhost"

I found also found that when I put the "actual" IP address of the server I got your error message...
 

jroper

Guru
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
3,832
Reaction score
71
Hi

I presume you have ssh access?

Ensure that you can connect to mySQL with your username and password, root and mysql Check that you can ping localhost.

Joe
 

raphou

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
2
Thanks a lot! It did the trick using localhost instead of the private ip. I'm managing all my pbx thru hamachi, but by putting localhost it went fine.

thanks again!

ps: I just have to figure out now why it tells me it couldn't connect to the sugarCRM server
Code:
Error: Could not connect to the Sugar Server. Please check your Proxy Settings value in the [URL="http://5.214.233.147/crm/index.php?module=Configurator&action=EditView"]System Settings[/URL] admin panel. Last attempted connection @  10/05/2009 14:01


What Joe is trying to say is are you intending to run Sugar on the same physical machine as your PIAF server...

Or put another way... when you run the sugar setup webpage, where it says IP address of MySQL Server:
Instead of putting your server's IP address, put 127.0.0.1 or "localhost"

I found also found that when I put the "actual" IP address of the server I got your error message...

Hi

I presume you have ssh access?

Ensure that you can connect to mySQL with your username and password, root and mysql Check that you can ping localhost.

Joe
 

KUMARULLAL

Guru
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
243
Reaction score
28
Blank Page after accepting Lisence.

I followed the instructions to the T. When I point my browser to http://myip/crm I get the License page asking me to accept. When I click on Accept and click next, the next page is blank, with no error message. I dont know why is this happening. Please help.
 

jroper

Guru
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
3,832
Reaction score
71
Have you recently done some sort of update?

Assuming this is a PiaF machine try

chown -R asterisk:asterisk /var/lib/php/session

Also check your httpd error logs.

Joe
 

KUMARULLAL

Guru
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
243
Reaction score
28
You are a Genius

Hi Joe
That did it.
Thanks you very much.
Could you also include the Step-by-Step instructions to add asterisk integration as well?
Thanks in advance
 

krzykat

Telecom Strategist
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,149
Reaction score
1,238
I followed the instructions to the T. When I point my browser to http://myip/crm I get the License page asking me to accept. When I click on Accept and click next, the next page is blank, with no error message. I dont know why is this happening. Please help.

Have you recently done some sort of update?

Assuming this is a PiaF machine try

chown -R asterisk:asterisk /var/lib/php/session

Joe

Thank-You - I had the exact same issue. Guess I should read a thread all the way through before spending an hour working through something where an answer has been given to the problem.
 

raphou

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
77
Reaction score
2
Hi!

Any clue why it still says that?

Code:
Error: Could not connect to the Sugar Server. Please check your Proxy Settings value in the [URL="http://5.214.233.147/crm/index.php?module=Configurator&action=EditView"]System Settings[/URL] admin panel. Last attempted connection @

Thanks a lot for your help!
 

sircolin

Guru
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
172
Reaction score
0
Blank Scrren

First thanks for documenting this!

I followed your instructions verbatim, i click on the crm logo on the main page then i get asked to accept the licence which i do click next then i get a blank page at

http://pbx.someonesserver.info/menu.php?id=crm

Permissions all in crm are chown asterisk:asterisk

any idea's

btw this was installed on a vps setting in promox using the 64bit template.

thanks
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
25,825
Messages
167,856
Members
19,250
Latest member
mark-curtis
Get 3CX - Absolutely Free!

Link up your team and customers Phone System Live Chat Video Conferencing

Hosted or Self-managed. Up to 10 users free forever. No credit card. Try risk free.

3CX
A 3CX Account with that email already exists. You will be redirected to the Customer Portal to sign in or reset your password if you've forgotten it.
Top