Resolved: Zaptel/Ztdummy missing; How to Fix

mwhitwor

Reaction score
Greetings all -

First, I have to take the opportunity of my first post to say thank you so very much to Ward and the rest of the team. I've been using Trixbox for about 15-18 months, and moved from that to PIAF (the VM version) a week ago. They have both been outstanding.

Now to my problem - we were experiencing the choppy sound issue with PIAF. I read in the forums about a newer kernel (ends in vm) that fixed the issue, and everything seemed to work well. Then I tried our conferencing, which has worked before brilliantly (on the Trixbox, anyway). I always get the invalid meeting/PIN message. Further research made me look at zaptel, and more specifically ztdummy (as I have no cards), and the modules don't exist. I believe I have to recompile some things, but I've not been able to do it right. I don't know if I am doing it wrong, or if there are bigger issues (some posts reference a need for usb_whci, which doesn't exist is this 2.6 version, nor does uhci.o, it is a slightly different file associated with usb - which may be a prereq for building ztdummy).

I hope this makes sense, because I really need to fix our conferencing. I presume that most anyone else who doesn't have any cards in their PBX and who implemented the "choppy sound" fix may also be seeing this problem. If it is not clear, let me know and I will try to post more info asap.

Thanks again.

jroper

Guru
Reaction score
cd /usr/src/zaptel
make clean
./configure
make
make install
make config

genzaptelconf

mwhitwor

Reaction score
Thanks! I ran the commands and it looks like it worked (and I don't get the error messages any more). I can't test conferencing until this afternoon, but I am confident this fixed it. Thanks again.

Lost Trunk

Guru
Reaction score
Complains about missing sources

cd /usr/src/zaptel
make clean
./configure
make
make install
make config

genzaptelconf