FOOD FOR THOUGHT IVR for Appointment Scheduling

solomd

Reaction score
I am a solo family doctor who needs to automate the scheduling of patients. I have an online scheduler that works very well, but many patients are not comfortable with going to the internet to schedule an appointment. I need a phone-based scheduling system that would integrate with my online scheduler (http://www.hitappoint.com/). I have a very basic understanding of IVR and realize that it could do this, but I don't think I have the technical skills to integrate IVR and the online scheduler. There is a website I found that offers exactly what I am looking for (http://www.itfrontdesk.com/products.htm) and I have requested pricing information from them. I suspect their service will not be cheap, and I need to be able to also consider the option of a do-it-yourself solution. My question for the members of this forum is how difficult is it to put together a Piaf program that integrates with an outside online scheduler, and how much know-how is required.

Thanks,
Scott.

atsak

Guru
Reaction score
My question for the members of this forum is how difficult is it to put together a Piaf program that integrates with an outside online scheduler, and how much know-how is required.

Thanks,
Scott.

I've looked into this before briefly. It's not all that difficult; simpliy the IVR will need to record something that gets translated into something your scheduling application understands.

If you post the project on www.vworker.com (a service I have used many times), you'll get several bids on the cost of doing exactly what you need with a custom solution.

Do not accept the lowest bid. Look for someone with good feedback who seems to immediately grasp what you're asking. Someone who has an expert rating is usually the right one. Also, the most expensive usually is the wrong one (I've discovered).

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Reaction score