1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED gvoice Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Bug Reporting and Fixes' started by wardmundy, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,125
    Likes Received:
    1,691
    If you're experiencing problems (login failed errors) with the gvoice command line utility for Google Voice that includes support for sending SMS messages, here is the fix. Log into your server as root and...

    Code:
    cd /root
    wget http://nerdvittles.dreamhosters.com/pbxinaflash/source/gvoice/gvoicefix.tar.gz
    tar zxvf gvoicefix.tar.gz
    cd bwpayne-pygooglevoice-auth-fix
    python setup.py install
    
    Then you can run a simple test:

    Code:
    gvoice -e yourname@gmail.com -p yourpassword send_sms 8431234567 "How are you?"
    Our thanks to bwpayne for the fix.
     
  2. MisterQ

    MisterQ
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    2
    THere would be a wget or curl command at the being of the second line of the instructions...
     
  3. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,125
    Likes Received:
    1,691
    Thanks.

    I'm still testing this but... one reason you might like this command is that I've found that adding an hourly SMS message to yourself (like the above example) as a cron job seems to solve the problem with Google Voice numbers not answering calls 100% of the time.

    It's starting to look like there is some sort of keep-alive activity that goes on with Google. Stay tuned. :rolleyes:

    /root/smstest:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    gvoice -e youremail@gmail.com -p yourpassword send_sms your-gv-phone-number "How are you?"
    

    /etc/crontab entry:
    Code:
    59 * * * * root /root/smstest
    
     
  4. alauppe

    alauppe
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't make this work. I've tried it on several platforms. I get "Login failed: '', Retry?[Y/n]"

    Still working for you Ward?
     
  5. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,125
    Likes Received:
    1,691
    Just sent one from new machine. Worked great.
     
  6. rossiv

    rossiv
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    137
    When did you install your box? There was an update for the GVoice command that fixed a login error not that long ago.
     

Share This Page