1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FYI Google Voice Trunk Codec

Discussion in 'Trunks' started by gordon, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. gordon

    gordon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is it possible to specify which codec to use for a Google Voice trunk?
     
  2. billsimon

    billsimon
    Expand Collapse
    Experienced in Asterisk, FreePBX, and SIP

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    146
    No. Google Voice only offers G.711u. Of course you can transcode on Asterisk if you want to use a different codec on your endpoints.
     
  3. gordon

    gordon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Too bad. Thanks
     
  4. markosjal

    markosjal
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. tm1000

    tm1000
    Expand Collapse
    Schmoozecom INC/FreePBX

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    80
    There is no way to change this in the GUI at this point. Sorry.

    Also regardless what what's written on the google website I am seeing this from the Asterisk developer website:

    It should be noted that calling using Google Voice requires the G.711 ulaw codec. So, if you want to make sure Google Voice calls work, allow G.711 ulaw, at a minimum.

     

Share This Page