SOLVED DTMF not passed to IVR?

youreontheair

Reaction score
Just set up incrediblepbx on a raspberry pi.
Can make outgoing calls successfully.
Can receive incoming calls successfully.

When I configure an IVR on the system (even using the nv-ivr that came with the install), I can call in from a mobile phone and hear the IVR play back, but when I press 1 for news, 2 for weather, etc... it doesn't appear the system "hears" the DTMF. The system does not respond to the DTMF.

As I'm new to this, I been reading quite a bit here, and I understand the value of having NO ports exposed on the firewall (which is how I'm currently configured)...
BUT...
when I attempt to troubleshoot, and open UDP ports 10,000 to 20,000... DTMF and the IVR appear to work correctly. When I revert back to no ports open, I re-introduce the issue.

So... is there a solution without opening the firewall ports?

Thank you!

Reaction score
Shouldn't be necessary to open ports ....

Provider? Trunk Config (sanitized)?Router type-brand, using a POTS line?

Using a registration string with your provider or not? Qualify directive in PEER trunk config?

youreontheair

Reaction score
Thanks Brian.

Provider = flowroute
Router = Arris cable modem
No POTS line.
Trunk Config (Peer Details exactly as specified by flowroute, secret and username scrubbed) :
type=friend
secret=****
username=****
host=sip.flowroute.com
dtmfmode=rfc2833
context=from-trunk
canreinvite=no
allow=ulaw&g729
insecure=port,invite
fromdomain=sip.flowroute.com

Flowroute suggests nothing in the USER details,
and then a registration string. (which works as I can send/receive calls fine.)
Registration string format username:[email protected]

Reaction score
FYI on a couple of things:

I'm assuming you have the Asterisk parameter : externip set correctly?

In Peer details for the trunk I use:
disallow=all
allow=ulaw
which really shouldn't make a difference.