1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DEAL DIY PIAF2 Server ~$200

Discussion in 'Items/Jobs/Services: For Sale or Wanted' started by wardmundy, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    [​IMG]

    Note: Dual Core model is available for $30 more. Not really necessary, but many will want it.

    Wireless Suport: Doesn't work out of the box. Here's the link to FoxConn if you really, really like water torture.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Click on the images for the NewEgg links. Any matching RAM and SATA III SSD will do. So you can probably beat these prices with a little surfing.

    Installation: Remove 4 case screws and gently pry off the cover. Remove the carrier for the drive (4 more screws) and insert SSD then insert and replace screws. Insert RAM. Snap into place. Snap on cover. Replace screws. 2 minutes!!

    This includes a free 4GB thumb drive which we figure is worth $3 and any shipping charges. :smile5:

    Only trick is, using new PIAF2 flash drive installer with ISO2USB, the settings should be SDC and SDA instead of SDB and SDA when you build the PIAF2 Flash installer. Works great!



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. gregc

    gregc
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wow. Didn't take long to get that up and running!

    They really are great little boxes and no reason not to buy two and clone em so you have a quick and easy backup solution. I played with this yesterday. Booted up the backup (both are static IP'd with the same address) and unplugged the Cat5 from the primary and moved it to the secondary. All worked peachy.

    -Greg
     
  3. lgaetz

    lgaetz
    Expand Collapse
    Pundit

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    524
    There was a post here about a year ago about a mini foxconn board that would accept Digium compatible fox/fxs daughter boards. Has anyone seen a consumer device built around one of these boards?
     
  4. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    How About This Dual-Core Baby for $93.50

    With the (better hurry) sale price, that brings the total system price to under $200... just $185!!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. gregc

    gregc
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ohh... with PCI Express interface. Nice!
     
  6. atsak

    atsak
    Expand Collapse
    Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    109
    Don't assume the PCI-e interface is accessible on the case (ie don't assume you can actually mount a card) unless you can see it from another angle :)
     
  7. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    We'll know soon enough. Tom has ordered one.
     
  8. drmurdoch

    drmurdoch
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    3
    Foxconn R30-A1

    Foxconn R30-A1 [link]


    1*PCI Express*16 slot(only support PCIE*4 ard)

    Motherboard AHD1S-K

    Tom's hardware on the AHD1S-K
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/e-350-motherboard-brazos,2958-5.html
     
  9. darmock

    darmock
    Expand Collapse
    PIAF Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    95
    :D

    Mostly to test out a pcie card I got from openvox..... oh boy.

    Since it is an AMD it should run prox with no problems also just dump on 8gb and away you go.... quite the deal....I just happen to have a rather huge 2.5" ssd laying around to drop into it and had the memory in a drawer that just happened to fit so GREAT DEAL.

    Actually with free shipping (usually you get screwed on this) with the secret savings code under a $100 dollar bill cant beat it. Also I think I have the same case in the lab so I bet a pcie card will fit just fine. Like the openvox 400e or similar form factor.

    Tom
     
  10. drmurdoch

    drmurdoch
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    3
    Think it would take a Sangoma A200 ?
    http://sangoma.com/assets/docs/datasheets/en/a200.pdf

    Updated March 01, 2012 22:52

    It does mention PCIe in the intro (but not in the specs as you say).

    This probably has more info.

    http://sangoma.com/products/hardware_products/analog_telephony/a200/specs.html

    Fully PCI 2.2 and PCI Express compliant, compatible with all commercially available motherboards, proper sharing of PCI interrupts
     
  11. darmock

    darmock
    Expand Collapse
    PIAF Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    95
    that spec sheet is for PCI not PCIE unless I am reading it wrong.

    Would like to say yes but we have NO Sangoma cards in our library for some reason.......

    the sangomas look pretty thick compared to an openvox. BTW the new openvox cards with hardware echo cancellation are second to none along with their new V100 transcoding card which "just works" out of the box.

    Tom
     
  12. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Send one along and I'm sure Tom would be glad to "test it" for a few years. :wink5:
     
  13. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    You Snooze, You Lose

    [​IMG]
     
  14. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    The above units are now back in stock. Coupon code no longer works but still a great deal. Add a SATA III SSD and up to 8GB of notebook RAM for an awesome Proxmox virtualization machine behind a secure firewall.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. drmurdoch

    drmurdoch
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    3
    [​IMG]
    Nice 60% markup newegg.ca !
    Especially the dollar being at par :)
     
  16. wardmundy

    wardmundy
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd Uno

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Niiiiiiiiiiiiiice.
     
  17. darmock

    darmock
    Expand Collapse
    PIAF Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    95
    actually US dollar is .93... per canuck buck


    Tom
     
  18. lgaetz

    lgaetz
    Expand Collapse
    Pundit

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    524
    Bank of Canuckistan is posting rates today (and over the last week) that put the dollars nearly at parity, only a fraction of a penny candy in the difference.
     
  19. darmock

    darmock
    Expand Collapse
    PIAF Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    95
    Damn I sent money to someone in canada few days ago and it cost 1.07 to buy 1 canukbuck
     
  20. airwolf3000

    airwolf3000
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ward, I will be very much interested in about 5 to 8 pieces, my problem it's, I am overseas, Colombia, shipping it's not a problem, I have an agent in Orlando, Fl. he will be glad to get me the stuff.

    I can not bring it, into the Country, all in separate pieces, has to assemble as a single package and I also need a bigger hard drive 300 GB or about that range.

    Also I will have to pay via bank transfer, big no-no to do it now with a credit card

    you can contact me at cortiz1bog at gmail dot com or cortiz1bog on skype, but having a busy schedule lately, only late evening, real late

    thanks, airwolf3000
     

Share This Page