1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

QUESTION BLF button for *80+EXT

Discussion in 'Developers' Corner' started by SteveS, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. SteveS

    SteveS
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    It would be great if you were able to program buttons on phones as BLF and use *80701 as the ext instead of just 701. That way that button could be a BLF and a auto dial button to voice over intercom to 701. As an alternative it would be equally useful to be able to program *80 onto a button (setup as a Voice Over Intercom button) and then press an existing button programmed for BLF to ext 701, so if you wanting to ring the phone just press the BLF/Auto dial button, if you want to voice over intercom the phone you would press the voice over (*80) button then the BLF/Auto dial button. Can anything like this be achieved now?
     
  2. nicknomo

    nicknomo
    Expand Collapse
    Happy-IT-Guy

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've done the second option with my Yealink phones. Using the "prefix" option, I can assign a button to do *80 and wait for me to hit a BLF, or dial the number myself. The button is labelled "Intercom", and I hit Intercom + Jen, and it connects me via intercom. Of course, your phone has to support such a feature.

    The endpoints forum would probably be a better place to ask in regards to how to do this on your phones:
    http://pbxinaflash.com/community/index.php?forums/endpoints.4/
     
    SteveS likes this.
  3. DaveDog

    DaveDog
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4

    same here!
     
  4. lgaetz

    lgaetz
    Expand Collapse
    Pundit

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    524

    Easy. In the file, /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf in the context [from-internal-custom], you want to add a line like this:
    Code:
    [from-internal-custom]   ; check to ensure this line doesn't already exist before creating
    exten => *80107,hint,SIP/107&Custom:DND107
    Reload the dial plan, and now whenever extension 107 is busy, a hint will also be created for *80107. Add a similar line for each extension you need. Note that if you change the *80 prefix within FreePBX, you have to manually edit this file again to fix the hints.
     
    SteveS and rjaiswal like this.
  5. SteveS

    SteveS
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks nicknomo, I have Yealink phones at one site!
     
  6. SteveS

    SteveS
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    lgaetz you are a wealth of knowledge. Thanks for all you help.
     
    lgaetz likes this.

Share This Page