TIPS PIAF or Incredible PBX on Ubuntu Server 14.04

johnk

Reaction score
Hi I've been using PIAF for several years on the same server. I've been changing hardware recently and started with Ubuntu Server 14.04 on its own server. This runs postfix, web, and a couple of other applications. This server has plenty of ram, storage, and processing power. Is this a candidate for piaf or incred? Do I need virtualbox? I'm running 6 trunks and 8 extensions with moderate call volume. There is limited IVR and Fax. Thanks for your response.

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Reaction score
johnk: As things stand today, only Incredible PBX supports the Ubuntu platform. No VirtualBox required with Incredible PBX for Ubuntu 14. Just read the Nerd Vittles tutorial. You're better off starting with a fresh, clean Ubuntu 14 build as set out in the article. Then you can add stuff AFTER you get Incredible PBX loaded. Apache, MySQL, PHP, and SendMail automatically get installed as part of the Incredible PBX build. If you want to switch to Postfix, do it afterwards... or not at all. :idea:

johnk

Reaction score
Hi Ward,

Thanks for the prompt response. The server is in production with postfix and apache set up. unbuntu security is set up too. but can be dismantled. I have an image of the Ubuntu server software install. Note I do have xserver installed so the Ubuntu server is capable of graphics.

Anything to look out for such as php will overwrite, etc. (just need pointers.

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Reaction score
Sorry. No way to know what your setup is in detail. We build our installers to work from a default operating system. We have to have a known starting point to be sure all the necessary pieces are put into place. Once you change that setup, we have no way to determine what's missing or different without a boatload of extra code. That's what paid consultants (not me!) do for a living.

BvppMA5CEAA5flU.jpg:large