Not always getting Caller ID on PSTN calls, works on VOIP calls

jnickel

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have been using PBX In A Flash for about 3 years now. I like it very much and really appreciate the effort everyone puts into it!

I have never asked for help before and I try to always research (google/wiki) as much as I can.

I have one problem I cannot solve.

First let me explain my environment:

I have a PSTN line from the phone company that is hooked to a Linksys SPA 3102. I have this setup to route the calls to the PIAF box. Those calls then get sent back to the 3102 and then to the extensions - the house phones (which are regular phones that are not VOIP capable). I also have a VOIP provider and it is connected to the PIAF box which then routes the calls to the 3102 and then to the house phones - these VOIP calls are setup with distinctive ring on the house phones so I can tell the difference between a PSTN call and a VOIP call.

The problem is this:

Some calls on the PSTN do not show the Caller ID on the house phones properly - they say "Incomplete Data".

It is very confusing.

- If I receive a call via the VOIP provider, the Caller ID on the house phones always works fine.
- If I call the PSTN number from my cell phone - it works fine.
- If I call the PSTN number from my wife's cell phone - it DOES NOT work.
- If I call the VOIP number from my wife's cell phone - it works fine.

Some phone calls to the PSTN line work...others do not.

When I look in /var/log/asterisk/full after a call from my wife's phone, I see a line like:
[2011-04-16 12:35:33] VERBOSE[27147] logger.c: dialparties.agi: Caller ID name is 'JIM NICKEL' number is '5551234'

(I changed the number)

So...PIAF is receiving the correct Caller ID from the SPA 3102, but somehow is not sending it to the phones properly.

Any ideas where I can look next? How to troubleshoot or fix this?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jim

blanchae

Guru
Reaction score