QUESTION Connection IP phone from another office

Rocco

Reaction score
Hi, I have PIAF with CentOS installed last year, now I want to connect IP phone from another office. As I am not experienced I would like to hear advices. I would choose non standard ports, open it in router and setup Fail2ban. Should I do anything else?

Jake

Reaction score
What model of phone are you using?

Jake

Reaction score
There are a couple of ways to go about this. I'm paranoid about security so I tend to go overboard. However, VPN tunnels make it easier to do remote offices in my mind.

The first, would be to install a point-to-point VPN between the sites. I personally like PfSense with a OpenVPN tunnel.

Second, either setup a VPN server on the PIAF server or better yet a hardware VPN (PfSense) connected to a new Yealink VOIP phone (these phones have a built in Open VPN client).

Third, get a public static IP each office and then use IPtables on the PIAF server to only allow connections from the remote phone location.

Fourth, look at Travelin' Man if you cannot use static IPs or use it in conjunction with static IPs.

Also, be aware of latency and jitter between the sites. It's normally best to use the same ISP at both locations if possible.

If you have any other questions, just ask.

rchalk

Reaction score
I have a similar situation, with a cloud server from RentPBX, and about 60 phones in 10 different locations, in different cities. Several of them have Static IP, but the rest are Dynamic.

I installed and configured Travelin Man, and we have been rock steady for over a year, with absolutely no intrusions.. This is simple, free, and portable, so if a user needs a phone at home, all he needs is the DYN update client on his home computer, and an entry in Travelin Man for the firewall.

Rocco

Reaction score
Thank you for answers.

I got stuck on more simple part. I went to setup Travellin Man like on this guide
http://nerdvittles.com/?p=815