TUTORIAL chan_mobile and Bluetooth with PIAF: Reliable!

Derick

Reaction score
Hello folks.

I know or should I say I think or rather I guess that many people struggle with getting chan_mobile to work - reliable. I have been using chan_mobile with PIAF, in a business setting for about 2 years now WITHOUT any issues. I do recall that I've been struggling a lot at that time when I was working hard to get everything working and running smoothly. And because it was such a pitty to just get everything paired up and working, I've made notes, and I've saved them (this time).

I've decided to set up a new "PBX" for a home business environment, and I am so glad that I've saved the notes I've made - way back.

So this is MY setup - please note that it might be wrong - I am no professional, nor am I a PIAF super-user. This is just MY contribution, to the PIAF family - in hopes that I might just help someone.

MY SETUP
  • BLUETOOTH DONGLES (I use 4)
    Bluetooth dongle - I use IOGEAR USB 2.1 Bluetooth Micro Adapter (GBU421)
    NOTE: I've also purchased the IOGEAR Bluetooth 4.0 USB Micro Adapter (GBU521) - I have never got it working. I dod not spend lots of time trying. It doesn't work for me. I have tried cheaper dongles - IT DOESNT WORK either. The ones which seemed to work simply is not reliable
  • PHONES
    I've tried cheap Motorola handsets - the ones which worked, had bad voice quality. I've also tried cheap Motorola phones and I've also experienced bad voice quality - compared to:
    Samsung GT-S5300 and any Nokia phone. The nokia phones work fast and everytime. Very very reliable. I can say the same for the Samsung ones too (I guess I can say this for all android phones? The Samsung ones were the only ones with Android which I have tried and used). But really, I've tried a Nokia C5-00, Nokia 6210, Nokia 6310i and a couple of other Nokia's - and they simply just work.
  • PC / Computer Hardware