Can't make Calls outside my area code...

koreystanley

Reaction score
I have a strange problem where if i dial any 10 digit number that doesn't start with '732' as in '6095553344' it wont work usually... but if I try 3 or 4 times it will eventually work?? My local area code is 732 and every number we dial usually begins with these 3 numbers but a couple of times a day i need to call a different area code or even an '800' number. It is very frustrating to myself and other employees to have to dial the same number 3 or 4 times...

The error I get from the auto attendant is "Due to area code changes you must now dial the area code along with the 7 digit number to complete this call. Please redial using the 10 digit number." ???

I am dialing a 10 digit number and if I watch the console it is sending the 10 digit number. My dial plan does not strip any digits. Also that fact that it works after 3 or 4 attempts also shows that it is passing all 10 numbers...

I am a Windows sys admin and a PBiaF newbie. My Linux understanding is pretty basic so I am not sure what else I should do to troubleshoot... any help would be much appreciated.

tm1000

Schmoozecom INC/FreePBX
Reaction score
I have a strange problem where if i dial any 10 digit number that doesn't start with '732' as in '6095553344' it wont work usually... but if I try 3 or 4 times it will eventually work?? My local area code is 732 and every number we dial usually begins with these 3 numbers but a couple of times a day i need to call a different area code or even an '800' number. It is very frustrating to myself and other employees to have to dial the same number 3 or 4 times...

The error I get from the auto attendant is "Due to area code changes you must now dial the area code along with the 7 digit number to complete this call. Please redial using the 10 digit number." ???