SOLVED Cannot access webmin on ec2

chayn123

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to PIAF. I've installed lots of asterisk and webmin instances on ec2.

I've installed the Green/asterisk 11.2.1 version. Thank you so much for the AMI!

I have port 9001 open to me. webmin status shows it is running, but ec2-ip:9001 does not open a webmin screen, it times out and I do not see any webmin link anywhere in PIAF (maybe I missed this?). Where should this be found in the PIAF screens? Maybe this issue is keeping it from being visiable too?

I've turned the menu check box off with no success and also moded the .htindex.cfg from true to false. none of these get me to webmin.

I would appreciate any and all suggestions on this.

Thank you

AndyInNYC

Reaction score
I'm not the expert, but I'll toss an answer in anyway.
If you have installed travellin man 3 for your system, you need to make sure that you have that/those ports open to you and that TM3 isn't blocking your access.

If that ain't it, I am out of ideas <g>.

Andrew

rossiv

Guru
Reaction score
Also try :10000. Something could have been configured wrong.

wardmundy

Nerd Uno
Reaction score
Also be sure 9001 has been opened in your EC2 security setup.

chayn123

Reaction score
Hi,

Terrific forum. It's very impressive to get so many responses so quickly.

I also thought not seeing the webmin icon could mean it was not running, but I checked before I started this thread and got "Webmin (pid 1889) is running".
I'm still not clear as to where I should be seeing the icon though.

I added port 10000 to the ec2 firewall, but still no webmin. 9001 have been open all along, but same as 10000 no webmin.

!! Success!!

Traveling man 3 is installed... I opened port 83 in the firewall, hit it and now webmin opens on 9001.

I am still not seeing any Webmin icon. What is the "Kennonsoft menu"?
Where should the Webmin icon be seen?

Thank you all,

Claude

chayn123

Reaction score